Bonded object in multiclass case


Rules Questions


Here is a tricky question which I could not find answer from rulebook or Google.

My team member has a lv6 Fighter and would about to take one level in Wizard at lv7 so he would be a lv6 Fighter/lv1 Wizard. And he plans to choose boned object feat which bonds his longbow as a lv1 Wizard the plan is to take next 10 levels (lv8 - lv17) as Arcane Archer, so his Wizard would always remain as level 1

Question is : could he enhance his bonded object: the longbow by adding expensive +4 or +5 equivalent special abilities when he is with high character level but with only as a lv1 Wizard? (according to rule: A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats )


With that plan, he could add weapon abilities to his bonded weapon at character level 13. Level 10 if he took the magical knack trait, level 12 with Prestigious Spellcaster, level 9 with both.

You only need the required caster level, not the wizard level.


Gallant Armor wrote:

With that plan, he could add weapon abilities to his bonded weapon at character level 13. Level 10 if he took the magical knack trait, level 12 with Prestigious Spellcaster, level 9 with both.

You only need the required caster level, not the wizard level.

Thanks, magical knack trait is taken. Good to know this only checks caster level.


Orange Prism Ioun Stone would also get you there a level faster. Pricey, but useful in it's own right.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Where is the bonded object feat?


I assumed OP meant the bonded object option for the wizard's arcane bond class feature (since OP's team member is taking a level of wizard).

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Ok, not ever level of Arcane Archer gives caster level improvements.

You'd need 5th caster level to start enhancing it as a magic weapon. You'd need CL of 3 times the bonus, so for +5 weapon that is CL 15.

You can use orange ioun stone, magical knack, and Esoteric/Eclectic Training to offset the fighter levels and the levels of Arcane Archer that don't give you CL improvements.


You can just add 5 to the craft DC to bypass the CL requirement.


Not in this case. Arcane bond requires you to be high enough level to qualify for the item creation feat you're mimicking, and CMA&A requires caster level 5th. Unless you go the Master Craftsman route, you still need those caster levels.


blahpers, I was responding to James Risner's comment about needing CL 15 to add a +5 to a weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bonded object in multiclass case All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.