Can you cast spells if under the effects of the Rage spell?


Rules Questions


As the subject queries.
The spell references the rage ability of the barbarian, but doesn't specifically call out the barbarian rage's proviso re casting spells.
Thoughts?

Regards.


Rage Spell wrote:


The effect is otherwise identical with a barbarian’s rage except that the subjects aren’t fatigued at the end of the rage.

Spellcasting is not in the list of exceptions to how it is identical to the barbarian rage, so no. It has all the benefits and limitations of barbarian rage except does not cause fatigue when it ends as explicitly called out.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Rage Spell wrote:
otherwise identical with a barbarian's rage
Barbarian Rage wrote:
While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

The first lines says that the second line is in effect during the Rage spell.

Grand Lodge

What about bloodrager spells?


*Khan* wrote:
What about bloodrager spells?

No. A bloodrager can cast bloodrager spells while in bloodrage because of Blood Casting ability. That ability specifically calls out bloodraging, not other kinds of rage.

Advanced Class Guide, Bloodrager wrote:

Blood Casting (Su)

At 4th level, the bloodrager gains the ability to cast spells even while bloodraging. He can also cast these spells defensively and can make concentration checks for these spells while bloodraging. While bloodraging, he can cast and concentrate on only his bloodrager spells (see below); spells from other classes cannot be cast during this state.

By the exact words, a bloodrager under both a Rage spell and bloodraging might be able to cast bloodrager spells; however, an FAQ prevents multilpe rages at once.

Advanced Class Guide FAQ wrote:

Anger management: If I am in a rage, or an Unchained rage, or a bloodrage, or some similar form of rage, can I stack up as many benefits as possible?

No. When you either activate or are affected by a new form of rage (such as a barbarian’s rage, a skald’s raging song, a bloodrager’s bloodrage, and the rage spell), you can choose whether to keep your current rage or to accept the new rage instead, much like a creature affected by multiple polymorph effects. If you are in the throes of a rage that you could not automatically end on your own, such as a wild rager’s wild rage, you may not choose to replace it with a new rage effect. The exception to this rule is the skald’s master skald ability, which explicitly allows the skald’s raging song to stack with other rage effects.

It does say that if a bloodrager is already in bloodrage, he can reject the Rage spell.


Mathmuse wrote:
It does say that if a bloodrager is already in bloodrage, he can reject the Rage spell.

Since the spell only works on willing targets anyone can reject it. Thought I'd mention that just in case someone reading this is thinking of casting the spell at an enemy wizard.


Moonclanger wrote:
Mathmuse wrote:
It does say that if a bloodrager is already in bloodrage, he can reject the Rage spell.
Since the spell only works on willing targets anyone can reject it. Thought I'd mention that just in case someone reading this is thinking of casting the spell at an enemy wizard.

it doesn't only work on willing targets, there's a will save to resist if you don't want the rage.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Chess Pwn wrote:
Moonclanger wrote:
Mathmuse wrote:
It does say that if a bloodrager is already in bloodrage, he can reject the Rage spell.
Since the spell only works on willing targets anyone can reject it. Thought I'd mention that just in case someone reading this is thinking of casting the spell at an enemy wizard.
it doesn't only work on willing targets, there's a will save to resist if you don't want the rage.

What spell are you looking at?

Targets one willing living creature per three levels, no two of which may be more than 30 ft. apart

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes


He is confusing the Rage spell for the Blood Rage spell.


TrinitysEnd wrote:
He is confusing the Rage spell for the Blood Rage spell.

Ah yep. that looks like what I did. (glad you found that blood rage spell, I was getting curious why I thought it had a save.)


Chess Pwn wrote:
TrinitysEnd wrote:
He is confusing the Rage spell for the Blood Rage spell.
Ah yep. that looks like what I did. (glad you found that blood rage spell, I was getting curious why I thought it had a save.)

Sadly, Blood Rage spell, while can be cast on anyone, doesn't stop casters from casting spells. It doesn't even stop a Psychic as it is, oddly, not an emotion spell.

Strangely, it is a better spell in general than Rage, besides shorter range, and technically a shorter duration if the caster only focuses on concentrating. Though, Blood Rage is harder to use on another person you don't know, because I doubt any GM will allow your spell component pouch to have the blood of some random person ("M (a drop of blood from each creature to be affected)").

Grand Lodge

well, there is eschew materials

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you cast spells if under the effects of the Rage spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.