Elemental Body


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So as a Cleric of Sarenrae with the fire domain, I'm trying to figure out this spell, and I am a little confused. Do I full on turn into elementals with all their stats, or do I just gain the benefits listed while my body becomes fiery and larger? Like do I have 20 fire resistance, or am I immune? Do I just add those +6, +4, and +4 to my stats, or do I use the stats of the elemental, or do I use the elemental stats+the newly mentioned ones? I have no idea how this spell works lol


you just get what's listed in the spell, so modifying your stats with what's listed in the spell

Grand Lodge

With Elemental Shape 1, you turn into a SMALL creature- so you modify your stats as per the Polymorph stats for transitioning between Medium and Small sizes, then apply the bonuses of the spell.

With ES 3 and 4, you transition into a bigger body- so your stats change according to the polymorph chart, then the bonuses of hte spell.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

so then I could still cast spells, yes?


Stoic Gorehard wrote:
so then I could still cast spells, yes?

Potentially yes, depending on the form.

Quote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

Dropping your spell component pouch before transforming, then picking it up again afterwords, would also allow you to cast spells with material components.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Or take eschew materials. What's the Polymorph chart?


2ndGenerationCleric wrote:
Or take eschew materials. What's the Polymorph chart?

True, but Eschew Materials is already listed. The rules imply the only way to cast a spell with a material component while polymorphed is if you have Eschew Materials or Natural Spell. That is wrong. If you have access to a component pouch somehow (like dropping your first before changing shape) then you can still cast such spells, even without Eschew Materials or Natural Spell.

In the Magic chapter, under the Polymorph subschool rules, there is a chart. If the caster of a polymorph spell is not already Small or Medium sized, you first adjust their ability scores with that chart, then add whatever the appropriate spell gives. If the caster is already Small or Medium sized (And most PC casters will be), then you ignore that chart.

Dark Archive

Note that your stats do not transition as per the size chart and *then* apply the bonuses from the spell as Selvaxri has said.

If you are a small or medium size character, you just apply the benefits listed in the spell. If you are a tiny or large race, then you use the chart to modify your ability scores and then apply the benefits from the spell. The polymorph chart is not at all related to the size of the creature you are polymorphing into, only what size creature you originally are. You shouldn't need to use this chart as a regular PC.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

You could also acquire a Polymorphic Pouch and put your spell component pouch inside it.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Polymorphic pouch is exactly what i needed-thanks!

Grand Lodge

An elemental can speak it's planar language so luckily verbal components won't be an issue for you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Body All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.