Can druids / monks etc. wear metal helmets?


Rules Questions


As per the title: Can a druid (no metal armor or shields) or a monk (no armor or shields) wear a metal helmet? Due to the lack of mechanical use for helmets, I do not know of any precedent that states all helmets are considered armor.

I understand that part of a "suit of armor" is the helmet, but is there a Pathfinder rule which says such?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

A druid or a monk can wear metal helm of telepathy (for example) without any penalty.

If it doesn't give an armor bonus to AC, it isn't armor.


Neat. The specific helm I was looking at was the Batrachian helm. link

Scarab Sages

While technically Dave Justus is correct, I would argue that, at least in the case of the Druid, it's pretty cheesy. The obvious intent of druid is no metal, and I would probably rule that a druid would lose his powers for wearing metal at all. Then again, most rings are metal, so...

I dunno. I feel like if you have to ask, you should probably avoid it. /shrug


Scimitars, scythes, and spear heads are all made of metal, but druids are allowed to use them. Druids are not forbidden from using metal, they are forbidden from using metal armor or shields.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Davor wrote:
I would argue that, at least in the case of the Druid, it's pretty cheesy. The obvious intent of druid is no metal

Quite frankly, there is no "obvious intent". As Mysterious Stranger has shown, it's far from "no metal" - I honestly see no rhyme or reason to the armor limitation thing.

It's a grandfathered rule that doesn't make any sense, and probably never did. I consider abiding by the strict minimum a good thing rather then cheese.


Secant, I'm now stuck trying to visualize a Cassian angel wearing a helmet.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can druids / monks etc. wear metal helmets? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.