#9-10 Signs in Senghor


GM Discussion

51 to 65 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
5/5

My group also got 4/4, both when I played it and run it. Both groups went after Shinri first and to be honest I would find it a bit odd for anyone not to. You have very little direct evidence against her when you get back from the ruins.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

2 people marked this as a favorite.
andreww wrote:
My group also got 4/4, both when I played it and run it. Both groups went after Shinri first and to be honest I would find it a bit odd for anyone not to. You have very little direct evidence against her when you get back from the ruins.

I like though that the adventure allows either direction. Basically, you have to do one "hard thing", swaying the council with little to go on or taking down Shinri without guards to help. And then the second thing is made easier if you succeed at the first.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Kentucky—Louisville aka Thes Hunter

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Thank you everyone!

My group did get 4 out of 4. So no worrying about that!

However, they spent a bit offering White Thoothec Wallace; coffee, tea, cigarettes, blueberries, wine, tomato sauce, and etc, because they didn’t know if they could trust a guy with teeth so white. :lol:

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Thes Hunter wrote:

Thank you everyone!

My group did get 4 out of 4. So no worrying about that!

However, they spent a bit offering White Thoothec Wallace; coffee, tea, cigarettes, blueberries, wine, tomato sauce, and etc, because they didn’t know if they could trust a guy with teeth so white. :lol:

Brilliant.

I thought WTW was a fair addition. Adds a good baseline to the scenario and just enough characterization to get started but not be distracting.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Thes Hunter wrote:

Thank you for responding Lau.

Oh yes, I understand that 4 out of 4 is doable, I am just trying to understand what happens in the edge cases. (Because if there is an edge case, we tend to find it.)

I just don't think it's very fair to tell a party they succeeded but not well enough to get the prestige point... unless that is what the intention was.

The intent is that 3/4 is sufficient. If the PCs get the support of three people, then the result of the council's vote is that they agree to support the PCs. If they are tied 2 to 2, they break the tie in favor of not helping the PCs.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Lau Bannenberg wrote:
Thes Hunter wrote:

Thank you everyone!

My group did get 4 out of 4. So no worrying about that!

However, they spent a bit offering White Thoothec Wallace; coffee, tea, cigarettes, blueberries, wine, tomato sauce, and etc, because they didn’t know if they could trust a guy with teeth so white. :lol:

Brilliant.

I thought WTW was a fair addition. Adds a good baseline to the scenario and just enough characterization to get started but not be distracting.

There's this stereotype about pirates missing teeth and other body parts. WTW is there to be a clear exception and an exemplar of dental hygiene :)

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5

7 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Thanks Linda!!! Just GMed it for the first time tonight. I enjoyed the story of the scenario but the clock mechanic in the background took me way too long to figure out. Thank goodness for Terminalmancer’s Prep on PFS Prep. My group had a blast though and I loved the boggard fight in the beginning.

Oh and I have to share this. My prettiest gaming map yet.

Hmm

Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/55/5 Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka thistledown

Going back to the muleback cords of resistance for a bit. If you already have muleback cords, can you just pay the difference to add on the resistance? Or do you have to sell back your cords and buy these new ones? It's only a net loss of 500gp, but at low level every bit counts.

5/5

James Anderson wrote:
Going back to the muleback cords of resistance for a bit. If you already have muleback cords, can you just pay the difference to add on the resistance? Or do you have to sell back your cords and buy these new ones? It's only a net loss of 500gp, but at low level every bit counts.

It would follow the normal rules for upgrading I assume so I don't see why not.


Hilary Moon Murphy wrote:
My prettiest gaming map yet.

Yep, that IS a nicely drawn map.

Silver Crusade

Played this scenario recently at low tier & must ask, (for Silver Crusade reward) is Shinri a divine caster-? If so, was she worshipping an evil DIETY, who dispatched a fiend to her, or was she serving the fiend itself?
Would thwarting her efforts qualify as "defeating" an evil outsider (since that's what was calling the shots), do you think?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Shinri is not a divine caster, but the fiend is an outsider with the evil subtype. So as long as you defeated it in combat, you can count it. If the optional didn't get run, you unfortunately miss out.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just... maybe as a nice bit of help for anyone still running this scenario... I'd like to go over the evidence. I could not for the life of me find the evidence bonuses. I even searched the PDF for the word "evidence" right there during the game. It just mentions that evidence gets bonuses, but never mentions WHAT. Then I saw in the listing for 1 of the council members that during the presentation of evidence, mentioning the connection to devils/demons would get a +4 to the diplomacy check with that 1 person. So I quickly scoured all the council member listings for the evidence bonuses and came up mostly empty! I was confused!

The PCs got 2 legit wins, but also had 2 big failures. Since I was certain that I was missing some details as I searched the section about convincing the council, I decided to turn 1 of the 2 failures into a success. I knew I was missing bonuses.

Turns out, the reason I missed it was because it was scattered in "Building the Case" boxes on pages 16, 20, and 22. So here are all the ways to influence the council, in one spot:


  • Page 16: Gideon Wren gives a +2 or +6.
  • Page 20: Shinri Dell's journal gives a +2, and if the PCs read the journal beforehand and get insights, it's an extra +1 per insight. So this could grant a +6 total if you had the journal AND got all 4 insights.
  • Page 22: The Twelve Rites (the tablets) confer a +2 if you have 1 to 5 of them. You get a +4 if you have 6 of them.
  • Vance Kagoshe gives the PCs a +4 against him only, just because he's inclined to want trade.
  • Windspeaker Belbi is essentially a -2 because she's not inclined to trade! (Technically, her DC is 2 higher than normal). However, if you mention fiends, then you get a +4!
  • The elephant in the room -- the huge Aspis boat that you take from Boali -- is worth nothing!
  • Finally, if the PCs use the alternative method of persuasion for each council member, the DC drops by 4!

So... if you're playing at the high tier and have the normal DC, the PCs need to hit a 32. If they use the alternative method of persuasion for each NPC, the DC drops to 28. (4 player adjustment would drop this to a 25, if that's in effect.) If you have max bonuses, you'd have a +16 on top of your own personal skill check bonus (and against Vance in particular it'd be a +20, and against Belbi in particular it'd be a +14, or a +18 if you mentioned fiends).

In other words, with due diligence, your PCs probably only fail if they roll a 1, 2, or 3.

I'm glad I increased my teams successes to at least 3 out of 4 council members, because once I finally found all the bonuses, they would have definitely done it. They didn't get Shinri's journal or all the tablets in time, but the other bonuses were enough.

Now I'll print this and paperclip it to the page about the council. Happy gaming!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Someone above mentioned that their PCs purchased a set of Nautical Charts for WTW while they were in Senghor, which seems like a great idea that would occur to exactly no one I play with. I was thinking about bringing up the unique navigational challenges of the bay and the availability of Nautical Charts if PCs excelled at their Gather Info and/or Diplomacy rolls during the resupply phase, but I'm not sure if that's bending things a bit too far?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Also, anyone looking at "doughahn's" stat block PDF on the PFSPrep forum should beware: the Corrupting Touch he uses on his sheets for Shinri is a 3rd party spell presumably cut and pasted from d20pfsrd; the correct version is an Infernal Bloodline Power.

I would comment on the forum, but the registration process seems to not be sending out activation emails and I can't create an account.

51 to 65 of 65 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / #9-10 Signs in Senghor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion