Surge of the Void (Voice of the Void medium) Question


Rules Questions


Maybe someone can help me parse this. I'm making a villain with the Voice of the Void archetype for the Medium (Villain's Codex). However, the Surge of the Void ability has a bit of text that I find confusing.

Quote:


Surge of the Void (Su): The voice of the void can use spirit surge additional times per day without incurring influence, but each time he does, he is confused for 1 round. If this confusion would cause him to babble, he can instead act normally, but his emissary gains 1 point of influence over him. The voice of the void can’t use this ability if he is immune to confusion, but he can remove the confused condition when he is affected by it. This temporary confusion clearly indicates the voice of the void isn’t fully in control, so if he uses this power on a Diplomacy check in a negotiation, for example, it might prejudice the other party against him regardless of his check result.

Emphasis mine. I can understand that a creature immune to confusion would be unable to use this ability, but why the part about removing confusion? If the character is immune to confusion, when would he ever be affected by it? Does anyone else have any insight into how this bit of the ability is supposed to work if a character is immune to confusion?


It’s two different thoughts, combined into one sentence.

1. You can’t use it if you’re immune to confusion.
2. If you’re NOT immune to confusion and you use the ability (which makes you confused), you can try to remove the confusion (if you get the “act normally” option).


quibblemuch wrote:

It’s two different thoughts, combined into one sentence.

1. You can’t use it if you’re immune to confusion.
2. If you’re NOT immune to confusion and you use the ability (which makes you confused), you can try to remove the confusion (if you get the “act normally” option).

If that's the case, what would be the benefit of it? The confusion only lasts 1 round. If you use the ability and are confused and roll "act normally", then you can just go about doing what you normally would. There's no need to remove it because it'll be gone on your next turn.


I believe there are items/abilities that remove confusion as a swift action. So you could potentially benefit. But yeah, it’s not going to be a typical situation.

Unless I’m reading it wrong. I’m open to correction.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Surge of the Void (Voice of the Void medium) Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions