Claim to Salvation with own characters


Starfinder Society

Grand Lodge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Agent, Florida—Melbourne aka trollbill

Claim to Salvation assumes you are going to play it with the level 4 pregens. And the guide states that if you play something with a pregen, you can't apply the rewards until you hit the level of the pregen. This essentially means this is a Level 4 adventure. However, both the description and boon state it is level 3-4 which suggesta there may be a circumstance under which you could play or apply this to a 3rd level character. I don't actually see anything in the adventure expressly forbidding playing it with our own character, nor am I finding anything in the guide that prohibits it.

So can you play this with your own 3rd level character or am I just missing something, and if so, where?

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

"Claim to Salvation has each player take control of one of the seven 4th-level Starfinder iconic characters." p4.

And also the front matter, "Starfinder Society Scenario #1–00: Claim to Salvation is a Starfinder Society Scenario designed for 4th-level pregenerated characters (Tier 3–4)."

So it is pre gen only, but it is worth noting there has been an official clarification that you can apply it once your character who you assign the Chroncile to reaches level 3 (if you don't assign it immediately.)

Grand Lodge 5/5 5/5 Venture-Agent, Florida—Melbourne aka trollbill

Shaudius wrote:

"Claim to Salvation has each player take control of one of the seven 4th-level Starfinder iconic characters." p4.

And also the front matter, "Starfinder Society Scenario #1–00: Claim to Salvation is a Starfinder Society Scenario designed for 4th-level pregenerated characters (Tier 3–4)."

So it is pre gen only, but it is worth noting there has been an official clarification that you can apply it once your character who you assign the Chroncile to reaches level 3 (if you don't assign it immediately.)

Thank you. Can you point me to that clarification?

3/5 5/5

Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide Page 6 wrote:
Credit for playing higher-level pregenerated characters must be applied to a Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild character of a lower level than the pregenerated character or to a 1st-level character.
Applying Credit (Page 7) wrote:
You may apply credit for an adventure once your Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild character reaches the level of the pregenerated character used to play through it ...

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

Bill Baldwin wrote:


Thank you. Can you point me to that clarification?

Sure thing http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2une7?0100-Claim-to-Salvation-Chronicle-Sheet#1

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Florida—Miami aka Morganwolf

Claim to Salvation special.
Can this scenario be played with existing starfinder 3rd level pc's or ONLY pre-gens?
Actual ruling on this please.

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

Rafael Taramona wrote:

Claim to Salvation special.

Can this scenario be played with existing starfinder 3rd level pc's or ONLY pre-gens?
Actual ruling on this please.

Why is:

"Claim to Salvation has each player take control of one of the seven 4th-level Starfinder iconic characters." p4. It further goes onto say, "Unlike other Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild scenarios, this scenario focuses on an event from the Starfinder Society’s history. The iconic characters for this scenario are not—at least not yet—Starfinders, and instead represent intrepid mercenaries hired for a single mission. In addition to the character backgrounds listed on each pregenerated character, you can learn more about each iconic character on that PC’s respective blog on paizo.com." (emphasis mine).

And also the front matter, "Starfinder Society Scenario #1–00: Claim to Salvation is a Starfinder Society Scenario designed for 4th-level pregenerated characters (Tier 3–4)."

Not clear enough to you?

Not saying you can't call for an official clarification but it seems to me to be pretty clear that this is a pre-gen only special.

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Florida—Miami aka Morganwolf

Shaudius wrote:
Rafael Taramona wrote:

Claim to Salvation special.

Can this scenario be played with existing starfinder 3rd level pc's or ONLY pre-gens?
Actual ruling on this please.

Why is:

"Claim to Salvation has each player take control of one of the seven 4th-level Starfinder iconic characters." p4.

And also the front matter, "Starfinder Society Scenario #1–00: Claim to Salvation is a Starfinder Society Scenario designed for 4th-level pregenerated characters (Tier 3–4)."

Not clear enough to you?

Not saying you can't call for an official clarification but it seems to me to be pretty clear.

You know whats clear enough for me, that players get to play with their actual PC's.

Sorry, Looking out for my player base and an official clarification would go far to have that happen.

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rafael Taramona wrote:


You know whats clear enough for me, that players get to play with their actual PC's.

Why? There's at least two places within the scenario where it is specifically stated that is not the case. I'm not sure how "Claim to Salvation has each player take control of one of the seven 4th-level Starfinder iconic characters." Could be any more clear. Ditto, "...designed for 4th-level pregenerated characters" compared to, for instance, "Starfinder Society Scenario #1–02: Fugitive on the Red Planet is a Starfinder Society Scenario designed for 1st- through 4th-level characters (Tier 1–4, Subtiers 1–2 and 3–4)."

I'm not trying to be antagonistic, nor do I have a horse in keeping it pre-gen only (especially since the only benefit to playing it with an actual character over a pre-gen is the ability to do a day job check.) I'm just not seeing at all where the confusion could lie when looking at the actual body of the scenario.

Paizo Employee Starfinder Society Developer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Iconics only.

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Florida—Miami aka Morganwolf

Thurston Hillman wrote:
Iconics only.

Thank you, that was the answer I was looking for.

We can apply the chronicle to our current PC's at 4th or can we apply it at 3rd?

:)

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

The guide is unclear on this. In one area it says to apply when the character reaches the tier, so 3rd. but in a different section, it says chronicles from pregens get applied at the level of the pregen.

There was a discussion of this topic in an earlier thread and I don't believe an official response was given.

I would personally apply at 4th level.

1/5 5/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

...at the sake of poking the fire, um, why does it have 3-4 if it can only be applied at L4 due to the pregens that are being played?

Grand Lodge 5/5 5/55/55/5 Venture-Captain, Online—PbP aka Hmm

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It applies at third, as per the chronicle. Thurston clarified this to me at Gencon.

Hmm

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Washington—Spokane

I believe it is the difference between playing a pregen by choice (only able to apply to a character when they hit the level of the pregen) and being forced to play a pregen (able to apply the chronicle when the character reaches the starting tier range of the chronicle).

Thursty did provide clarification on the question of at what level can the Claim to Salvation chronicle can be applied here.

1/5 5/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thank you very much for the clarification.

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

The last 6 responses really confuse me, this is a one page thread where that question was answered on post 2 (with a link on post 5 to the official response) and posed again on post 11.

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Washington—Spokane

The post I linked to is the official word on the question of when the Claim to Salvation chronicle can be applied from Thursty (Thurston Hillman). If a clarification is made by message board post by either Tonya, John, Linda for PFS, or Thursty for SFS, it is considered official.

The Exchange 1/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Agent aka Shaudius

Preston Hudson wrote:
The post I linked to is the official word on the question of when the Claim to Salvation chronicle can be applied from Thursty (Thurston Hillman). If a clarification is made by message board post by either Tonya, John, Linda for PFS, or Thursty for SFS, it is considered official.

Yes, that's the thread linked in post 5.

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Washington—Spokane

Shaudius wrote:
Preston Hudson wrote:
The post I linked to is the official word on the question of when the Claim to Salvation chronicle can be applied from Thursty (Thurston Hillman). If a clarification is made by message board post by either Tonya, John, Linda for PFS, or Thursty for SFS, it is considered official.
Yes, that's the thread linked in post 5.

I think people prefer to click a hyperlink than copy and paste a URL. Just guessing.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Starfinder Society / Claim to Salvation with own characters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Starfinder Society