Control Weather vs. Control Weather - Which caster wins?

Rules Questions

Let's say the bad guy casts Control Weather to create a storm to hinder the heroes.

Now let's say one of the heroes, not realizing the storm is not natural, also casts Control Weather, to change the storm back to calm air.

Who "wins" this competition of conflicting spells?

PRD wrote:
Control weather can do away with atmospheric phenomena (naturally occurring or otherwise) as well as create them.

This seems to indicate that the second caster can indeed alter the weather effects created by the first caster. But the root of my question is this:

PRD wrote:
The weather continues as you left it for the duration, or until you use a standard action to designate a new kind of weather...

This seems to indicate that the first caster, upon seeing the weather he created change to something else, can use a standard action to change it back (which takes effect in 10 minutes). If this is the case, then it follows that the second caster could also spend a standard action to re-change the weather to his liking, and we end up with an hours-long yo-yo of the weather changing every 10 minutes, until one of the spells ends, leaving the other "in charge" so to speak.

Naturally I'm only concerned about the area of overlap between the two spells, and not any area of one spell that exists outside the area of the other.

Am I missing anything, or is this a reasonable conclusion?

Thanks in advance.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

It is a reasonable conclusion, it's how I would rule. If it hadn't been for that, I would have suggested treating it like counterspelling.

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

Might also be a good place to have an opposed check based on caster level as both try to wrest control away from the other.

Just wondering if there is a consensus on this. We have a druid going up against the sard and is a mjor issue as each fights for control.

Neither of them overrides the other, I have to go with the initial conclusion, standard to change it. They can ping pong it if they wish.

Under Stacking Effects you have:

Same Effect with Differing Results wrote:
The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

There is also:

Multiple Mental Control Effects wrote:
Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as spells that remove the subject’s ability to act. Mental controls that don’t remove the recipient’s ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.

I think dueling Control Weather spells falls clearly under the first paragraph. However, I would have no real problem allowing dueling control, with the checks only happening after a given new state of weather occurs.


Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Control Weather vs. Control Weather - Which caster wins? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.