Samsaran Boon Help


Pathfinder Society

The Exchange 3/5

"Hello... my name is Yeshing... this is the only thing I remember. I had a vision where all my ancestors gathered in a giant circle and looked at me. I woke up not remembering a thing. Except my name... tattooed in my mind's eye in big black letters on a snowy white background. H-help?!"

Yeshing's subconscious knows one thing: she's not a druid or a psychic... the rest is fair game she guesses...

Dark Archive 1/5

I'm assuming that you didnt want druid because of how all over the place it can be, but, unchained summoner w/ ancestor eidolon from blood of the beast is cool/fun/good. I find summoners work best at a table when you hyper focus your eidolon instead of actually summoning.

Otherwise there are a bunch of cool oracle stuff and Shamans can contact the spirits and gain help from their ancestors, plus shamans are wisdom based. Also low con makes frontline combat scary.

Based on stats from race a Monk could be cool. You get +2 int so any wizard builds work

Silver Crusade 5/5 5/55/5 ***

I am contemplating the Possessed Shaman for my Samsaran, and playing off the other consciousnesses as past lives coming to the surface.

The Exchange 3/5

Interesting... never played shaman before... how would you rate the experience? keep it coming!

Silver Crusade 5/5 5/55/5 ***

I haven't played him, yet. 2xp, but one was a Pregen and the other was GM credit.

Shamans have a weird spell list. They buff nicely, but don't have many damaging spells. I figured Samsaran could fix that by choosing a collection of spells from Druid/Cleric (like Snowball and/or Burst of Radiance).

I might even grab Blistering Invective. Still fiddling with it.

The Possessed Shaman essentially gets 4 bonus skills, each at max ranks, and relies on Wisdom for them, so it could be a skill monkey. Trying to decide if he'll be a face or knowledge focused.

5/5 *****

If you go with the ancestors spirit you can take wisdom of the ages. This will make all of your Int skills wisdom based and let you take face skills with the possessed shaman ability.

The Exchange 3/5

I think you gents have sold me on this.

Dark Archive 4/5 *

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

My Samsaran is a witch - hexes are awesome (I refuse to slumber because it's just not fun for anyone) and I filled the holes in the spell list with cherry picked stuff from the wizard list. It's a lot of fun to play so far (4th level)

5/5 *****

CigarPete wrote:
My Samsaran is a witch - hexes are awesome (I refuse to slumber because it's just not fun for anyone) and I filled the holes in the spell list with cherry picked stuff from the wizard list. It's a lot of fun to play so far (4th level)

This is what I planned to do with mine.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rico Vashnarstill wrote:

I haven't played him, yet. 2xp, but one was a Pregen and the other was GM credit.

Shamans have a weird spell list. They buff nicely, but don't have many damaging spells. I figured Samsaran could fix that by choosing a collection of spells from Druid/Cleric (like Snowball and/or Burst of Radiance).

I might even grab Blistering Invective. Still fiddling with it.

The Possessed Shaman essentially gets 4 bonus skills, each at max ranks, and relies on Wisdom for them, so it could be a skill monkey. Trying to decide if he'll be a face or knowledge focused.

Be warned, there's a HIGH chance that snowball will be changed to the Ultimate Wilderness version once that book is legalized.

Scarab Sages 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's not taken of the Druid list, though, is it? It's still a good blasting spell, even without being conjuration or having the stagger effect. When dealing with the Shaman and Druid or Cleric list, the blasting options are limited. So 1d6/level ranged touch as a 1st level spell is still an upgrade over everything else he'd have access to.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

Ferious Thune wrote:
It's not taken of the Druid list, though, is it? It's still a good blasting spell, even without being conjuration or having the stagger effect. When dealing with the Shaman and Druid or Cleric list, the blasting options are limited. So 1d6/level ranged touch as a 1st level spell is still an upgrade over everything else he'd have access to.

No the spell access isn't changing as far as I'm aware. It's just becoming an evocation spell that has to deal with SR with no extra effects.

I just know that basically everyone I know that's taken it have done so for the no SR and the stagger.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

Also about the samsaran, I'm pretty sure that all your bonus spells need to come from one class, meaning for the shaman you pick cleric OR druid to get your spells from, you can't pick from both lists.

5/5 *****

So, I am looking at which spells you might take as a Samsaran Witch, plundering from the Wizard list. Looking at some of the following:

1st:
Heightened Awareness
Liberating Command
Shield
Silent Image
Vanish

2nd:
Burst of Radiance
Mirror Image
Page Boud Epiphany
Pilffering Hand
Aram Zeys Focus

3rd:
Aqueous Orb
Daylight
Haste
Communal Resist

4th:
Dragons Breath
Emergency Forcde Sphere
Bone Shatter
Shadow Conjuration
Acid Pit

5th:
Echolocation
Wall of Force
Telekinesis
Icy Prison
Life Bubble

6th:
Chains of Light
Chain Lightning
Permanent Image

Scarab Sages 4/5

That’s correct as far as I understand it, too. I was just making the point that between all three lists, Snowball is still the best blasty 1st level spell, even with the changes. So you’d have to choose Druid to take it, and not get Cleric spells.

Dark Archive 4/5 *

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
andreww wrote:

So, I am looking at which spells you might take as a Samsaran Witch, plundering from the Wizard list. Looking at some of the following:

1st:
Heightened Awareness
Liberating Command
Shield
Silent Image
Vanish

2nd:
Burst of Radiance
Mirror Image
Page Boud Epiphany
Pilffering Hand
Aram Zeys Focus

3rd:
Aqueous Orb
Daylight
Haste
Communal Resist

4th:
Dragons Breath
Emergency Forcde Sphere
Bone Shatter
Shadow Conjuration
Acid Pit

5th:
Echolocation
Wall of Force
Telekinesis
Icy Prison
Life Bubble

6th:
Chains of Light
Chain Lightning
Permanent Image

Spells I took were Grease, Invisibility, Darkvision, Haste, emergency force sphere and wall of force I think. Liberating command is a good one I didn't realize wasn't on the witch list.

The Exchange 3/5

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Also about the samsaran, I'm pretty sure that all your bonus spells need to come from one class, meaning for the shaman you pick cleric OR druid to get your spells from, you can't pick from both lists.

Just going to point out this is one of those "Not a PFS campaign clarification / FAQ / leadership rules."

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

Ragoz wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Also about the samsaran, I'm pretty sure that all your bonus spells need to come from one class, meaning for the shaman you pick cleric OR druid to get your spells from, you can't pick from both lists.
Just going to point out this is one of those "Not a PFS campaign clarification / FAQ / leadership rules."

You're saying that the rule is the universal rule right? Cause yeah, PFS hasn't done anything to it.

The Exchange 3/5

Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Also about the samsaran, I'm pretty sure that all your bonus spells need to come from one class, meaning for the shaman you pick cleric OR druid to get your spells from, you can't pick from both lists.
Just going to point out this is one of those "Not a PFS campaign clarification / FAQ / leadership rules."
You're saying that the rule is the universal rule right? Cause yeah, PFS hasn't done anything to it.

No it's just a James Jacobs rule around since 2012 so that makes people go with it. Still not nessarily correct at least not for PFS.

1/5

From the PRD entry for the Advanced Race Guide (bold added for emphasis).

Mystic Past Life wrote:
You can add spells from another spellcasting class to the spell list of your current spellcasting class. You add a number of spells equal to 1 + your spellcasting class's key ability score bonus (Wisdom for clerics, and so on). The spells must be the same type (arcane or divine) as the spellcasting class you're adding them to. For example, you could add divine power to your druid class spell list, but not to your wizard class spell list because divine power is a divine spell. These spells do not have to be spells you can cast as a 1st-level character. The number of spells granted by this ability is set at 1st level. Changes to your ability score do not change the number of spells gained. This racial trait replaces shards of the past.

The wording of the bolded section seems to pretty unambiguously say that the spells must come from another class - not other classes. Have I missed something?

The Exchange 3/5

Not going to debate a 5 year old topic here. Just saying its a non-PFS ruling.

1/5

If by "ruling" you mean "the words in the published source that defines how the rules element works", sure.

It's like saying elves getting +2 to Intelligence is "a non-PFS ruling".

1/5

I'm still unpacking this logic. Is the actual wording somehow nullified for PFS because he said it worked this way? If I find a James Jacobs post saying that elves get +2 to Intelligence, can I have one that gets +2 racial bonus to Charisma instead?

Because that would be really useful for character building, let me tell you.

The Exchange 3/5

If I am a cleric both shaman and druid are another spellcasting class.

The Exchange 3/5

andreww wrote:
So, I am looking at which spells you might take as a Samsaran Witch, plundering from the Wizard list. Looking at some of the following:

Do you have similar lists for say, a shaman borrowing from cleric or druid? :)

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

I use this DB of spells and filter and filter and filter to find spells that are on one list but not another.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

Ragoz wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Ragoz wrote:
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
Also about the samsaran, I'm pretty sure that all your bonus spells need to come from one class, meaning for the shaman you pick cleric OR druid to get your spells from, you can't pick from both lists.
Just going to point out this is one of those "Not a PFS campaign clarification / FAQ / leadership rules."
You're saying that the rule is the universal rule right? Cause yeah, PFS hasn't done anything to it.
No it's just a James Jacobs rule around since 2012 so that makes people go with it. Still not nessarily correct at least not for PFS.

Nah dude, I have no idea what this James Jacobs guy might have said about something. I'm just reading the rules there. Gain spells from another class. Not spells from other classes.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So going beyond trying to parse the words (which are arbitrary in my opinion), what end result would it be if this was verified one way or another? I mean, how varied are the various spell lists on the arcane or divine side that this is causing problems?

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I did some research and found groups quoting two different statements by James Jacobs that are in conflict (and yet, humorously, both come from the same post):

Quote #1 wrote:
The flavor is that you've had this ability in your past lives

Notice he uses "lives", plural. But then we have:

Quote #2 wrote:
Just one other class

Now, obviously, whichever quote you use is of no significance to THIS discussion, because you can't quote James Jacobs for PFS rulings. But I wanted to explain the argument.

That being said, I can read it both ways. As Ragoz pointed out up thread, if you're a Shaman, then both Cleric and Druid are "another spellcasting class". This also lines up with a casual reading that assumes a Samsaran has likely had multiple past lives.

On the other hand I can also see the conservative interpretation of "class" being singular in definition.

Honestly, I would side with the more liberal interpretation. The singular reading doesn't come across as sensible to me. BUT, since this is PFS, and you want to avoid table variation when it comes to something as integral as your spell list, I would recommend going with the more conservative reading.

Because, as this thread demonstrates, the real answer is inconclusive.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Samsaran Boon Help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society