Calculating CMB - racial / trait bonuses add too?


Rules Questions


CRB wrote:
Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver.

QUESTION: If I have a changeling with the Mother's Gift (Hag Claws) feat (+1 racial bonus to attack/damage with claws) and Cruel Child trait (+1 to attack with claws during a full attack), do I add those to CMB rolls for maneuvers made as part of a full attack?

More generally: Which maneuvers can I add those bonuses to, if any?

EXAMPLE 1: A trip combat maneuver can be attempted in place of a regular attack. So I could do a full-round attack with her claws, declaring that the first claw will be a trip attempt (assume Improved Trip), adding +2 to the CMB roll from the trait & feat combo, right?

EXAMPLE 2: A grapple, on the other hand, is a standard action that isn't weapon specific. Therefore, her CMB for a grapple check (assume Improved Grapple) would not add the +2, since those bonuses are claw-specific, right?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You want this blog entry.

Short answer: you can use them for disarm, sunder, and trip; at the GM's discretion, you could maybe use them for dirty trick; you can't use them for other maneuvers.


Excellent! Thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Calculating CMB - racial / trait bonuses add too? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.