Arc critical question


Rules Questions


If you score a critical with a weapon with the Arc critical, do you have to use it?

The text says you can choose who the weapon arcs to, but what if there's only PC's nearby? Can you waive off the crit?

Because the people in my party are getting tired of taking damage from my good rolls.

Dark Archive

Cainus wrote:

If you score a critical with a weapon with the Arc critical, do you have to use it?

The text says you can choose who the weapon arcs to, but what if there's only PC's nearby? Can you waive off the crit?

Because the people in my party are getting tired of taking damage from my good rolls.

I'd like to know too, for as the melee Solarian, I'm the one who keeps getting hit!

Silver Crusade

Related question: do you add Weapon Specialization to the arc damage?


Cainus wrote:
The text says you can choose who the weapon arcs to, but what if there's only PC's nearby? Can you waive off the crit?

Well the arc effects says it leaps to a secondary target. I would posit that group members are allies, not potential targets.

In ANY case it says you choose who gets hit, meaning you can choose not to hit anyone, IMO. Or you can choose for a durable and grounded inanimate object gets hit harmlessly, since objects can also potentially be 'targets'.

As for Sober Caydenite's question, I would think not. That would be adding Weapons Specialization damage twice to the same attack. You add specialization damage to the initial hit only.


I have access to the actual write up now.

The arc has to target a creature, so directing it to an object is out. I like the idea of not choosing any one, but is that actually an option?

Arc
The attack’s energy leaps to a second creature. This secondary
target must be within 10 feet of your original target and must be
the creature closest to the original target (you choose if multiple
creatures are equidistant). Roll the amount of damage listed in
the weapon’s arc—the secondary target takes this damage (not
multiplied by the critical hit), of whatever type the weapon deals.


You only get to choose the target "if multiple creatures are equidistant". So, if only allies are nearby, then an ally gets hit.

If you put a magic fusion with a crit effect on your weapon, you can use that crit effect instead instead of the arc.

Edit: My guess is that weapon specialization does not apply to the arc damage.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Arc critical question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.