Psychic Magic and Duel Wielding


Rules Questions


Just wanted to know if I were to play a mesmerist, and Two-weapon fight, with 2 swords would I be able to cast spells with my hands full?

I know its a terrible idea, but its more for curiosity then being practical.

Im debating a Swashbuckler Mesmerist Gestalt build for a group coming up and wanted to use Two-Weapon Grace for Dex to damage and keeping Swashbuckler skills working, any cast magic. Psychic seemed the best way of doing it with hands full, assuming of course that it works. Thanks ahead of time for any help!


If I understand the occult magic system right (I freely admit I'm not too familiar with it, never seen it in action), you don't need free hands, so this would work (poorly, but it would work).

But, because I feel I must ... it's 'DUAL' wield.
Dual means two of something.
Duel is a formalized fight between two people.

You could dual-wield while fighting a duel.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Psychic Magic doesn't require somatic or material components so you can do it with your hands full, tied behind your back, etc.

Psychic Magic does technically still require focus components, but most people I've seen don't play it that way.

Why this is perhaps not a good idea, however, has nothing to do with your hands but more to do with your DC for casting defensively (i.e. not provoking) for any spell with thought components is 25+2*SpellLevel.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
PossibleCabbage wrote:
...Why this is perhaps not a good idea, however, has nothing to do with your hands but more to do with your DC for casting defensively (i.e. not provoking) for any spell with thought components is 25+2*SpellLevel.

Unless said spellcaster centers herself as a move action, in which case the DC reverts to 15+2*SpellLevel.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
voideternal wrote:
PossibleCabbage wrote:
...Why this is perhaps not a good idea, however, has nothing to do with your hands but more to do with your DC for casting defensively (i.e. not provoking) for any spell with thought components is 25+2*SpellLevel.
Unless said spellcaster centers herself as a move action, in which case the DC reverts to 15+2*SpellLevel.

Or use a Centering Gem to make it a Swift Action.


PossibleCabbage wrote:

Psychic Magic doesn't require somatic or material components so you can do it with your hands full, tied behind your back, etc.

Psychic Magic does technically still require focus components, but most people I've seen don't play it that way.

Yes, Focus Components and expensive Material Components are still required.


As others have said.
It's technically possible, it's practically of questionable use.


The way to use psychic casting in melee... is mostly to not do it. Use buff, debuff, and battlefield control/hazard spells before you get into threat range and after you or your opponent leave it.

Is it ever specified that you need to retrieve and/or touch a Focus component?


Bloodrealm wrote:
The way to use psychic casting in melee... is mostly to not do it. Use buff, debuff, and battlefield control/hazard spells before you get into threat range and after you or your opponent leave it.

Generally yes. It's one of the reasons why Mind Eye is such a great Occultist Focus Power. But a build based on getting lots of AoO's can cast during their round and still do some decent melee damage. I have a reach Occultist who can pull this off. But you can't effectively make use of TWF for this sort of thing.

Bloodrealm wrote:
Is it ever specified that you need to retrieve and/or touch a Focus component?

Yes.

CRB wrote:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).


Ah, the "manipulate" is the important part there I was wondering about. So even if you have it on a cord around your neck or wrist or something to avoid needing to retrieve it you still need to use it in some way regardless of what the object is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Psychic Magic and Duel Wielding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.