Weird rules interaction with regard to magic item slots


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

If a Merfolk alchemist takes the vestigial limb (twice) and monsterous grafts discoveries, would they have a boot magic item slot?
I am aware they'd have to chop off said limbs


Looks like it'd work to me.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber

Considering the discovery is called Vestigial Arm and gives you arms specifically, I really don't see how you could gain legs.

Shadow Lodge

Technically the graft discovery doesn't care what the original limb was, just what the grafted limb is

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

If you are saying you graft on a leg to an amputated arm so you can walk, your GM might say nope.


There was no specification of walking. Only wearing boots.

Shadow Lodge

With regard to land speed the discovery is quite clear that it gives +5 land speed per leg
On a merfolk, two legs would bring you up to 15ft of move on land

I want to know if those boots would also let you have the boot slot item

(If it matters the character/build this question is for is a former human who drank a potion of Merform)


You should get your real arms amputated too and replace all four with horse legs. Then you can wear magic horseshoes! How cool is that?


*takes notes*

So, an unarmed tailslap specialist?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

This is entirely an Ask your GM question.

There are too many rules that need GM interpretation.

In PFS, I’d say you grafted limbs must be of the same type as removed.

In a home game, I’d say “no” because that’s just awkward.


LoudKid wrote:
Considering the discovery is called Vestigial Arm and gives you arms specifically, I really don't see how you could gain legs.

I agree with this. There isn't a vestigial limb discovery, so you can't use it to gain a leg.

Which then leaves the question of can you use monsterous graft to change an arm into a leg. It says you are 'replacing' limbs, and doesn't seem to address at all the consequences of replacing an arm with a leg or vice versa, so I would conclude that the simplest and best interpretation is that you have to replace like with like. In order to replace a leg, you have to remove a leg and graft a leg, hence the leg is replaced. It is possible to read it other ways, but the context of the whole seems clear to me that this is how it is supposed to work.


Merfolk technically do have a "feet" magic item slot, even though they have a tail instead of a foot. The caveat is that the item filling that slot must fit a tail fin, rather than feet. If the merfolk does obtain feet that can wear boots, it can then wear boots to fill the magic items slot.

It's the same family of logic that says you have two ring slots, regardless of how many fingers (or toes) you have. In this case it would be like a piercing ring (on an ear, nose, or less child-friendly location) occupying a ring slot.


Yaba wrote:

Merfolk technically do have a "feet" magic item slot, even though they have a tail instead of a foot. The caveat is that the item filling that slot must fit a tail fin, rather than feet. If the merfolk does obtain feet that can wear boots, it can then wear boots to fill the magic items slot.

It's the same family of logic that says you have two ring slots, regardless of how many fingers (or toes) you have. In this case it would be like a piercing ring (on an ear, nose, or less child-friendly location) occupying a ring slot.

Agreed. The discovery is not altering the magic item slots you have access to. It's just giving you different limbs. Unless it specifies that you are gaining additional magic item slots, you are still limited by the cap given in the CRG.

Shadow Lodge

Yaba wrote:

Merfolk technically do have a "feet" magic item slot, even though they have a tail instead of a foot. The caveat is that the item filling that slot must fit a tail fin, rather than feet. If the merfolk does obtain feet that can wear boots, it can then wear boots to fill the magic items slot.

It's the same family of logic that says you have two ring slots, regardless of how many fingers (or toes) you have. In this case it would be like a piercing ring (on an ear, nose, or less child-friendly location) occupying a ring slot.

can I get a citation on this?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weird rules interaction with regard to magic item slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.