At what point does a thrown weapon leave your hand during a AOo?


Rules Questions


so if a flying blade swashbuckler makes a range attack against a foes and provokes a AOo from a adjacent foe (next to you), can he/she disrupting counter/parry/riposte before the weapon leaves your hand? or is the weapon already considered out of your hand?


Attacks of opportunity are always resolved before the triggering event. If the AoO leaves you dead, your corpse will still be holding the throwing weapon.


Be smart and have another weapon ready, spiked gauntlets, a buckler or some such and use the other weapon/armor spikes as a Attack of Opportunity or Unarmed strike?


well i have to use only one weapon because precise strike doesn't work when wielding two weapons. plus i kinda have to use dagger or starknife to get the most out of the archetype. so AOo are resolved before the actual attack? so could i use parry/disrupting counter before the weapon leaves my hand?


Sir_Andrew wrote:
well i have to use only one weapon because precise strike doesn't work when wielding two weapons. plus i kinda have to use dagger or starknife to get the most out of the archetype. so AOo are resolved before the actual attack? so could i use parry/disrupting counter before the weapon leaves my hand?

You have it right.

1) You decide to make a ranged attack.
2) Your opponent gets to make an AoO which will be resolved before your ranged attack.
3) You decide to make an AoO using parry-riposte or disrupting counter. This will be resolved before your opponent's AoO.

You work backwards when resolving the chain so your weapon won't leave your hand until the other actions are finished (assuming the results of these don't render your original attack impossible or meaningless).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / At what point does a thrown weapon leave your hand during a AOo? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions