Two Handing One-Handed Exotic Weapons. Turns them into Martial Weapons?


Rules Questions

Sczarni

Staring at the bastard sword raises concerns within my head. The bastard sword has a neat little FAQ that is basically the reverse of this question.

Quote:

If a weapon is wielded two-handed as a martial weapon and one-handed with an exotic weapon proficiency, can I wield it one-handed without the exotic proficiency at a –4 penalty?

No.

Note that normally you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand. A bastard sword is an exception to that rule that you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, but you must have special training to use the bastard sword this way. Without that special training, wielding a bastard sword one-handed is as impossible as wielding a greatsword one-handed. (The same goes for other weapons with this one-handed exotic exception, such as the dwarven waraxe.)

Does this essentially make it possible to grab a one-handed exotic weapon and two-hand it into a martial weapon?


4 people marked this as a favorite.

No.


I’d say no since most one-handed weapons wouldn’t have the space on the hilt for a second hand. The bastard sword is the only exception to this in either direction because it is a hand-and-a-half sword - one where the hilt is sized to work with either just one hand or with your second hand braced partly on the hilt and around the pommel.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't think realism is the crux here. There is no rule allowing you to do what you are asking about, so you can't. Bastard swords are special (and, you'll note, explicitly spelled out).


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
I don't think realism is the crux here. There is no rule allowing you to do what you are asking about, so you can't. Bastard swords are special (and, you'll note, explicitly spelled out).

Oh I was just pointing out why DnD’s designers decided to make the bastard sword an exception in the first place. But the fact that it’s the only weapon specifically called out as an exception should suggest that trying to two-hand a one-handed exotic doesn’t work.

Sczarni

Well drats! Thanks anyway. Guess I'll pick up a monk's spade and call myself a shovel knight.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
ShadowFighter88 wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
I don't think realism is the crux here. There is no rule allowing you to do what you are asking about, so you can't. Bastard swords are special (and, you'll note, explicitly spelled out).
Oh I was just pointing out why DnD’s designers decided to make the bastard sword an exception in the first place. But the fact that it’s the only weapon specifically called out as an exception should suggest that trying to two-hand a one-handed exotic doesn’t work.

I think it’s likely the reason it’s different is because without the extra feat cost, a one-handed bastard sword would dominate the long sword completely by having virtually the same use but one die higher in damage.

It’s an entirely game-mechanical reason.


ShadowFighter88 wrote:
...trying to two-hand a one-handed exotic doesn’t work.

You can still two-hand a one-handed exotic weapon. "If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls."

However, you're not suddenly proficient in it, so you still take the non-proficiency penalty on the attack roll.


quibblemuch wrote:
ShadowFighter88 wrote:
...trying to two-hand a one-handed exotic doesn’t work.

You can still two-hand a one-handed exotic weapon. "If a one-handed weapon is wielded with two hands during melee combat, add 1-1/2 times the character's Strength bonus to damage rolls."

However, you're not suddenly proficient in it, so you still take the non-proficiency penalty on the attack roll.

Oh yeah, I was just talking in terms of proficiency since that’s what the original question revolved around.


Crayfish Hora wrote:
Well drats! Thanks anyway. Guess I'll pick up a monk's spade and call myself a shovel knight.

I don't understand. Does this have relevance to the original question? Did you maybe misread 'Shotel' as 'Shovel'?

Even if this did work, why would you want to? I can't really think of any weapons where doing this would be an improvement over just using a two-handed martial weapon.

Sczarni

Shotel knight would have sounded so much nicer, don't you think? It was a joke on words, but it was related to the shotel. I'm glad you picked up on it.

There's also the battle poi, which would allow the fighter to do "magical" damage. Granted that damage is the most commonly resisted, but it goes through DR and beating people up with a bowl of fire sounds almost as entertaining as hitting them with a shovel.

My DM likes to throw a lot of shields into our faces and shotels are my favorite weapon. It was going to be made as a match in martial heaven.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Handing One-Handed Exotic Weapons. Turns them into Martial Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.