Casting, while Grappling help


Rules Questions


Hello all, In the advice forum Im working on building a Grappler Spell caster and require a few rules to be clarified with your help if possible!

Assuming you are the grappler, What is the DC of the concentration check?

Spell casting while grappling:
Casting a spell while you have the grappled or pinned condition is difficult and requires a concentration check (DC 10 + the grappler’s CMB + the level of the spell you’re casting). Pinned creatures can only cast spells that do not have somatic components.

Does that mean the DC is 10+spell level as I am the grappler and not the Grapplee? Grappled?

Would grabbing Style assist in anyway for this idea? Freeing up a hand for casting.

Assuming I Cast a spell, do I provoke an attack from the grappled opponent? Do I provoke if they are pinned?

Now on the the first side of this...

Assuming I grapple an opponent, and I cast Aqueous Orb on us, is there any rule to help reduce the time they can hold there breath, while grappling damage wise? I realize if you dont full round to hold your breath you start losing rounds faster if you use standard actions, etc.

Now, assuming my opponent is inside the aqueous orb, and I use the spell Steal Breath, does my opponent immediately start drowning?


So, first you need a way to cast the spell as a swift action, since you're needing to spend a standard to maintain the grapple.

If you have grappled condition as the grappler it would be 10+your CMB+spell level since that's what the formula says it'll be.

People with the grappled condition can't take AoO's, so yes you provoke, but they can't do anything with that.

And yes you still provoke if they are pinned, they just can't take the AoO.

If you cast aqueous orb they still get their save to not get into it.

This really sounds like a very inefficient way to be doing stuff.


I never even considered the fact I need to burn my standard in order to maintain my grapple. This changes things for me. I really appreciate that eye opener on that, :D Thank you!

I realize its very inefficient, and a complete waste of time, but Im just looking for weird ways to defeat opponents now. Shocking Grasp crit fisher has become boring.

Now you say, while grappled, they get a save to not end up in the orb, can I drag an opponent into an orb? Would that negate the save, or do they just save again?


Quote:
You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.

So if you tried to move them into it they'd get an extra attempt to break free.


You can do it as a White Haired Witch.

When you hit someone with your White Hair, you get a free Grapple check, and when your opponents are Grappled in this way, you aren't.

There is still the problem of the Action cost of Maintaining the Grapple.

Another way for a spellcaster to grapple their opponents while you ravish them with spells is to cast a spell that does the Grappling for you:

Strangling Hair, Web, and Black Tentacles come to mind.

Rylden wrote:
Assuming I Cast a spell, do I provoke an attack from the grappled opponent? Do I provoke if they are pinned?

If you have the Grappled Condition, you can't make Attacks of Opportunity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting, while Grappling help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.