If a troop surrounds a character via their shapable area, are they flanked?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Quote:
A single troop occupies a 20-foot-by-20-foot square, equal in size to a Gargantuan creature, though the actual size category of the troop is the same as that of the component creatures. The area occupied by a troop is completely shape-able, though the troop must remain in contiguous squares to accurately reflect the teamwork of trained military units

While flanking won't matter much for the troop itself, it doesn't make attack rolls to benefit, there are a few things that target flanked creatures.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Also a question on troop: If a creature is at a point where volley lines overlap, are they attacked twice?


Since a troop is effectively a single creature it wouldnt cause the opponent to become flanked in the same way a gargantuan dragon wouldnt be treated as flanking a creature it was standing on top of.

As for your second question, im not sure if i understand what your asking. Agian, a troop is basically a swarm and as such they are immune to attacks that only hit a specfic number of targets. Conversely, attacks that damage all creatures within a particular area (like fireball) deal 50% extra damage.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
deuxhero wrote:
Also a question on troop: If a creature is at a point where volley lines overlap, are they attacked twice?

The volley text should include text explaining such a situation.


LordKailas wrote:
As for your second question, im not sure if i understand what your asking.

Volley is an ability of certain Troop subtype creatures and all creatures with that subtype can get it with the Skirmishers addition.

Quote:
the troop gains a ranged special attack that takes the form of up to two lines starting from the corner of any square in the troop’s space, with a range equal to the base range increment of a selected weapon type, such as crossbows or javelins. Like with the troop’s melee attack, all creatures in the lines’ areas of effect are hit by the attack automatically, though targets can attempt a Reflex saving throw for half damage (DC = 10 + 1/2 the troop’s HD + the troop’s Dexterity modifier).
Quote:
A testudo troop can fire a volley of arrows as a standard action. This attack takes the form of up to four lines with a range of 100 feet. These lines can start from the corner of any square in the troop’s space. All creatures in one of these lines take 4d6 points of piercing damage (Reflex DC 17 half). The save DC is Dexterity-based, and includes the bonus from the testudo troop’s Ability Focus feat.

Is it like Scorching Ray where each one can target the creature multiple times?


At first it seemed like it was just a shapeable area effect attack. However, looking at the description given for an axe troop, each line is treated as a separate attack and so multiple lines hitting a creature will cause it to take damage multiple times.

An Axe troop can fire a volley of arrows as a standard action. This attack takes the form of up to four lines with a range of 100 feet. These lines can each start from the corner of any square in the troop’s space. Each creature in any of these lines takes 4d6 points of piercing damage per line that hits it (Reflex DC 21 half). The save DC is Dexterity-based.


Wonder if that's an exception axe troops have or a general rule that's only specifically mentioned in axe troops.


deuxhero wrote:
Quote:
A single troop occupies a 20-foot-by-20-foot square, equal in size to a Gargantuan creature, though the actual size category of the troop is the same as that of the component creatures. The area occupied by a troop is completely shape-able, though the troop must remain in contiguous squares to accurately reflect the teamwork of trained military units
While flanking won't matter much for the troop itself, it doesn't make attack rolls to benefit, there are a few things that target flanked creatures.

A troop of rogues with sneak attack would probably do more damage when flanking.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / If a troop surrounds a character via their shapable area, are they flanked? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.