Starship Combat: Flyby-who takes the shot?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

When a pilot succeeds on a Flyby maneuver, does the pilot resolve the bonus attack during the subsequent Gunnery phase, or one of the gunners? One the one hand, only gunners act during the gunnery phase, but on the other hand the text of Flyby refers to "you," which seems to be the pilot.

"you can select one arc of your Starship’s weapons to fire at the enemy vessel"

If it is the pilot, is Flyby a way for a single-crew shop to make an attack without the penalty of the Snap Shot minor action?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

You cut off that quote there.

Flyby wrote:
you can select one arc of your Starship’s weapons to fire at the enemy vessel as if the vessel were in close range against any quadrant of the enemy Starship.

It is not a bonus attack.

Flyby lets your gunner attack at close range even if you end up further away, and lets you fire even if that arc does not end up facing the enemy. It also lets you target their most vulnerable quadrant.

If you have to act first and your forward arc is your most powerful arc, Flyby lets you attack with your most powerful weapon no matter how well the enemy positions behind you.

The gunnery phase happens normally. The only difference is that one attack gets to ignore distance and position.


KingOfAnything wrote:

You cut off that quote there.

Flyby wrote:
you can select one arc of your Starship’s weapons to fire at the enemy vessel as if the vessel were in close range against any quadrant of the enemy Starship.

It is not a bonus attack.

Flyby lets your gunner attack at close range even if you end up further away, and lets you fire even if that arc does not end up facing the enemy. It also lets you target their most vulnerable quadrant.

If you have to act first and your forward arc is your most powerful arc, Flyby lets you attack with your most powerful weapon no matter how well the enemy positions behind you.

The gunnery phase happens normally. The only difference is that one attack gets to ignore distance and position.

So, in a single crew ship, the pilot making the attack allowed by a successful Piloting check would still take the Snap Shot penalty to hit?

I don't know if I agree with this interpretation. Flyby has one of the highest DCs, so the risk/reward of the action (to me) suggests that the attack from Flyby is a bonus.

/shrug


Most single fighter ships will be lower tiered, so the DC to do a flyby will be much lower which would offset the difficulty of the maneuver.


baggageboy wrote:
Most single fighter ships will be lower tiered, so the DC to do a flyby will be much lower which would offset the difficulty of the maneuver.

Flyby attempts against single fighter ships would be lower, sure. But this maneuver seems more likely to be performed by a single fighter ship against larger ships. The DC of the maneuver is based on the tier of the enemy ship, so it's still likely to be high.

It's all academic, of course. E'rybody's gonna run their table how they see fit. :)

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Starship Combat: Flyby-who takes the shot? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.