Ultimate Magic


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I just got the ultimate magic book and I am just not getting spell book under the chapter mastering magic. What is the the temporary "boom"?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you prepare at least 3 spells out of the spellbook in question, you are granted the preparation ritual effect of that book (if there is one) until you prepare spells again. This effect is referred to as a boon.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Chemlak wrote:
If you prepare at least 3 spells out of the spellbook in question, you are granted the preparation ritual effect of that book (if there is one) until you prepare spells again. This effect is referred to as a boon.

OK if I understand you correctly travelers Tome would a boom be one of he say 1st level Spells? Ant Haul, does that mean I can function as if I have ant haul until next time I study new spells?


plassteel wrote:
Chemlak wrote:
If you prepare at least 3 spells out of the spellbook in question, you are granted the preparation ritual effect of that book (if there is one) until you prepare spells again. This effect is referred to as a boon.
OK if I understand you correctly travelers Tome would a boom be one of he say 1st level Spells? Ant Haul, does that mean I can function as if I have ant haul until next time I study new spells?

First, it is "boon", not "boom".

Second, the Traveler's Tome doesn't have a boon. If a particular book does have a boon, it is listed under Preparation Ritual. For example, the Book of Harm's boon:

Quote:

Preparation Ritual

Harmful Surge (Su) You can maximize a spell, but doing so damages you. Spend this boon effect as a free action when you cast a wizard evocation spell. When you do, you can treat that spell as if it were cast with the Maximize Spell metamagic feat, but you take 1d4 points of damage × the level of the spell that you are maximizing. The damage you take cannot be reduced in any way.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Jeraa wrote:
plassteel wrote:
Chemlak wrote:
If you prepare at least 3 spells out of the spellbook in question, you are granted the preparation ritual effect of that book (if there is one) until you prepare spells again. This effect is referred to as a boon.
OK if I understand you correctly travelers Tome would a boom be one of he say 1st level Spells? Ant Haul, does that mean I can function as if I have ant haul until next time I study new spells?

First, it is "boon", not "boom".

Second, the Traveler's Tome doesn't have a boon. If a particular book does have a boon, it is listed under Preparation Ritual. For example, the Book of Harm's boon:

Quote:

Preparation Ritual

Harmful Surge (Su) You can maximize a spell, but doing so damages you. Spend this boon effect as a free action when you cast a wizard evocation spell. When you do, you can treat that spell as if it were cast with the Maximize Spell metamagic feat, but you take 1d4 points of damage × the level of the spell that you are maximizing. The damage you take cannot be reduced in any way.

Whoa! Color me silly! I pushed the m instead of n and didn't check before, silly me.

Ok I think I am getting a clearer idea. So my character spell book will not have a boon but as you mentioned Book of harm does. If my character was able to find and buy the book does come with all those spells listed? And thanks for you guys help.


plassteel wrote:

Whoa! Color me silly! I pushed the m instead of n and didn't check before, silly me.

Ok I think I am getting a clearer idea. So my character spell book will not have a boon but as you mentioned Book of harm does. If my character was able to find and buy the book does come with all those spells listed? And thanks for you guys help.

Finding and buying a whole spellbook may be possible at the discretion of your GM - from the given examples the cost can be reverse-engineered to be 115 gp + the cost of the writing of the appropriate spells, not counting the cantrips. You add to it the cost of any protections on the book (like locks) or preparation rituals the book is supposed to have.

Note that the preparation ritual isn't something you can use automatically if the book has correct spells - it is something added to the book. So you can have two books with the same spell selection, and one has a preparation while the other doesn't. If you want a book with a preparation ritual, you need to ask for it specifically, and it will be more expensive.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Adjoint wrote:
plassteel wrote:

Whoa! Color me silly! I pushed the m instead of n and didn't check before, silly me.

Ok I think I am getting a clearer idea. So my character spell book will not have a boon but as you mentioned Book of harm does. If my character was able to find and buy the book does come with all those spells listed? And thanks for you guys help.

Finding and buying a whole spellbook may be possible at the discretion of your GM - from the given examples the cost can be reverse-engineered to be 115 gp + the cost of the writing of the appropriate spells, not counting the cantrips. You add to it the cost of any protections on the book (like locks) or preparation rituals the book is supposed to have.

Note that the preparation ritual isn't something you can use automatically if the book has correct spells - it is something added to the book. So you can have two books with the same spell selection, and one has a preparation while the other doesn't. If you want a book with a preparation ritual, you need to ask for it specifically, and it will be more expensive.

Awsome I understand so much better now thanks.so to be clear I can add spells to the book such as "the book of harm" if say it does not have Burning hands. The cost as stated with ritual almost double normal cost ok got tha. Are there rules so my character can make his own spell book that I can include a boon in it? cost will be a little cheaper.


You can always add spells to an existing spellbook (as long as it has empty pages left), you can find the rules for it in the Core Rulebook p. 219 or here.

As for creating a completely new book with a preparation ritual, the rules aren't exactly stated anywhere as far as I know, but from the examples provided in Ultimate Magic one can calculate the prices of some rituals (for example Harmful Surge from the Book of Harms would cost 860-485=375 gp). If, during the game (let's say during a visit in some city), you want to buy a book created by you from the scratch, make sure your GM is okay with it. Some GMs will make no problems, others could say, for example, "it would be unlikely if there was someone in this city selling a spellboook exactly like that, but there may be someone selling something similar", but others can simply say "no, there's no such item in any sourcebook".

But if you have a helpful and agreeable GM, you may even try to create completely new preparation rituals, as long as the GM is okay with it. That would be akin to researching new spells, so there is no strict rules for that, but you may be able to use existing examples as guidelines for what is possible and how much would it cost.


Pathfinder Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Adjoint wrote:

You can always add spells to an existing spellbook (as long as it has empty pages left), you can find the rules for it in the Core Rulebook p. 219 or here.

As for creating a completely new book with a preparation ritual, the rules aren't exactly stated anywhere as far as I know, but from the examples provided in Ultimate Magic one can calculate the prices of some rituals (for example Harmful Surge from the Book of Harms would cost 860-485=375 gp). If, during the game (let's say during a visit in some city), you want to buy a book created by you from the scratch, make sure your GM is okay with it. Some GMs will make no problems, others could say, for example, "it would be unlikely if there was someone in this city selling a spellboook exactly like that, but there may be someone selling something similar", but others can simply say "no, there's no such item in any sourcebook".

But if you have a helpful and agreeable GM, you may even try to create completely new preparation rituals, as long as the GM is okay with it. That would be akin to researching new spells, so there is no strict rules for that, but you may be able to use existing examples as guidelines for what is possible and how much would it cost.

Thanks! Some great ideas I always give my GM hey can I do this and it works like this he has enough to work on.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ultimate Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.