Shaman - Monstrous Insight


Advice and Rules Questions


A question about my shaman. I took the Lore Spirit.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/hybrid-classes/shaman/spirits/lore/

The class feature Im talking about is monstrous insight, it states:

Monstrous Insight (Su): The shaman can identify creatures and gain insight into their strengths and weaknesses. As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster’s type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level. Whether or not the check is successful, she also gains a +2 insight bonus for 1 minute on attack rolls made against that creature and a +2 insight bonus to her AC against attacks made by that creature. These bonuses last for 1 minute. The shaman can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier.

My question is if there are 3 of the same monster, do i get those bonuses vs ALL 3 of the same monster or just 1 ?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I have the same question.

Absent further clarification I would run it that if in a single encounter the shaman is battling multiple identical creatures (e.g., a room with 4 wights) the bonus applies against all weights. It seems to fit the flavor of the ability and the ability is not that amazing anyway.


Necromancy approved.

The rules text would suggest that you get that bonus only against one specific creature, but if I were GM I'd rule it the same way as drsparnum.


I agree.
Absolute RAW it's one creature.
But in a real game? Fighting 3 orcs you get the bonuses against all of them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / Shaman - Monstrous Insight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions