Emissary Cavalier Archetype's Erratic Charge: Mistake in Errata?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

I made some searches on this, but I couldn't find anything. Perhaps my search-fu is weak today.

Originally, the Emissary archetype of the Cavalier had the following listed (copied from my PDF of Ultimate Combat, pre-errata):

Erratic Charge, Emissary Archetype (Original Printing) wrote:

Erratic Charge (Ex): At 17th level, an emissary learns

to ride through the thick of combat, striking and
then moving away with blinding speed. Whenever the
emissary is mounted and takes the charge action, he can
first move 10 feet and make a melee attack. This first
attack is not a charge, but a regular melee attack, and the
movement counts toward the total allowed movement for
the round. After making this attack, the emissary must
still move in a straight line to reach the target of his
charge, and he takes a –5 penalty on the attack roll for
the attack at the end of his charge. This ability replaces
supreme charge.

Here is the copy listed on the PRD:

Erratic Charge, Emissary Archetype (PRD) wrote:
Erratic Charge (Ex): At 20th level, an emissary learns to ride through the thick of combat, striking and then moving away with blinding speed. Whenever the emissary is mounted and takes the charge action, he can first move 10 feet and make a melee attack. This first attack is not a charge, but a regular melee attack, and the movement counts toward the total allowed movement for the round. After making this attack, the emissary must still move in a straight line to reach the target of his charge, and he takes a –5 penalty on the attack roll for the attack at the end of his charge. This ability replaces supreme charge.

I've italicized the differences. Basically, Erratic Charge was moved from 17th to 20th level. Makes sense, since it is supposed to replace Supreme Charge.

However, the Emissary archetype replaces Tactician and Greater Tactician, but does not replace Master Tactician. Which means all Master Tactician does is grant a bonus teamwork feat?

I get the feeling that when issuing errata for Ultimate Combat, the archetype was changed to reflect the replacing the level for which Supreme Charge gets swapped, but I question if this was a mistake. Wouldn't it have made more sense to have Erratic Charge replace Master Tactician?

I don't know if this is a good FAQ candidate, but I found this change kind of puzzling.

Thoughts?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Emissary Cavalier Archetype's Erratic Charge: Mistake in Errata? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.