Can you aid another in:


Rules Questions


Can you aid another in:

Diplomacy checks
Perception check to taste a potion to find out what it does
Spellcraft check to know what a magic item does
Knowledge check to impress an NPC
Appraise an item
Heal checks to help someone other than yourself and the healer
Strength checks to break things

Also, which of these would allow more than one person to aid another?


4 people marked this as a favorite.
cmastah wrote:

Can you aid another in:

Diplomacy checks
Perception check to taste a potion to find out what it does
Spellcraft check to know what a magic item does
Knowledge check to impress an NPC
Appraise an item
Heal checks to help someone other than yourself and the healer
Strength checks to break things

Also, which of these would allow more than one person to aid another?

Yes, (although more than 1 or 2 aids is probably pushing it)

Sure "does this taste like mango or tangerine to you? "No no its definitely orange flavored which means...

"Bob, it has skulls on it, pretty sure its necromancy...

"psss, it's transverse Atavism

That would be most episodes of pawnstars

you got breaths i'm calling dibs on compressions

one.. twoo.. three.. PUSH


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Lol, awesome breakdown, thanks!


Quote:

Diplomacy checks

Perception check to taste a potion to find out what it does
Spellcraft check to know what a magic item does
Knowledge check to impress an NPC
Appraise an item
Heal checks to help someone other than yourself and the healer
Strength checks to break things

Also, which of these would allow more than one person to aid another?

I would check with your GM, but:

* Sure, and more than one is fine.
* Sure, and more than one is fine.
* Depends if you're standing in front of them or if you're collaborating beforehand. More than one is fine.
* Sure, and more than one is fine.
* Not sure what you mean, but probably fine in my book. Even just "good advice" seems ok.
* Depends. If it's a door sure. If it's a chest, only if you have a tool that allows others to help.

I actually go further than this for some things. I have the person with highest perception roll, then I have others "Aid another" for each player, and use that as the group perception. I also do this for Knowledge Checks, and other various things so that there's less pointless rolling at the table. It also means that they succeed at (mundane) things more but not in some way that cheapens the experience.

Sovereign Court

Cattleman wrote:

...snipping to save space....

I actually go further than this for some things. I have the person with highest perception roll, then I have others "Aid another" for each player, and use that as the group perception. I also do this for Knowledge Checks, and other various things so that there's less pointless rolling at the table. It also means that they succeed at (mundane) things more but not in some way that cheapens the experience.

I've been on the fence with this method of doing group skill checks - and you do give a very good point of view....

I just wonder/worry about that player who wants to Take 10 ... does that mean they can't then offer to Aid? and are effectively NOT working as part of the group? After all, if they are Taking 10 - but not getting the highest result at the table, they are not rolling to Aid Another... I guess if they are Taking 10 and getting the highest result I could count the other players as Aiding... but that feels odd.


Take 10 wrote:
I guess if they are Taking 10 and getting the highest result I could count the other players as Aiding... but that feels odd.

I don't allow a take 10 for Knowledge or Perception (depends on what it is.) If it's important enough I don't want the players to fail, I don't make it so they can fail (perception for example.) If it's important enough I want them to roll, I don't want them to automatically pass. Thus, I don't hit the issue much.

It *can* happen when they search for stuff or similar. In general though, if a Take 10 or Take 20 to pass a check is applicable, I first have them roll (if there are any consequences for the roll) and if they fail I just say "would you like to spend a few more minutes attempting to do X"; which is like a Take 20, but they don't tell me it.

Then if they can pass, they do, or if they can't, they don't. This basically bypasses all need for the players to Take 10 or 20, because I'll offer it out. When failure matters, I tend to want the players to roll. When it doesn't, I tend to give it to them but start with a Dice Roll because then they can (potentially) pass the check impressively and RP it, gain a Skill Rank, or other oddities.

If that interests you, I summarized the way I handle skills in another thread moments ago asking about what homebrew systems you use. Eventually I'll have a write up on it when it's more extensively tested.

Scarab Sages

Take 10 wrote:

I've been on the fence with this method of doing group skill checks - and you do give a very good point of view....

I just wonder/worry about that player who wants to Take 10 ... does that mean they can't then offer to Aid? and are effectively NOT working as part of the group? After all, if they are Taking 10 - but not getting the highest result at the table, they are not rolling to Aid Another... I guess if they are Taking 10 and getting the highest result I could count the other players as Aiding... but that feels odd.

Pretty sure you can take 10 or 20 on aid another checks. Though taking 20 would still require the time to do so, so might not be an option on every check they wanted to aid.

Either way, aid another doesn't affect the "highest roll", they affect the roll that they declare they affect, before it rolls. So very often the player rolling the main, botches it, and the other players buff that to a rather subpar result.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
aid another wrote:
(You can't take 10 on a skill check to aid another.)

I don't think it qualifies for take 20 either.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you aid another in: All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.