An amulet of mighty fists does not need to have a +1 enhancement bonus to grant a melee weapon special ability.
Does an Amulet of Mighty Fists with no enhancement bonus and just special abilities overcome DR/Magic?
My gut reaction is to say "it is a magic weapon, it turns off in an anti-magic field, so yes", but my gut suffered from the Nauseated FAQ and has been cautious of hasty actions ever since.
Well, that was incisive, thank you :). I thought I read somewhere that a magical weapon counted the highest of its straight + enhancement, or any of its bonus-priced enhancements for such effects. So a +1 Vorpal weapon would overcome alignment-based DR because Vorpal is +5, for example, but perhaps I was getting mixed up with something out of the crafting rules.
I thought I read somewhere that a magical weapon counted the highest of its straight + enhancement, or any of its bonus-priced enhancements for such effects.
Maybe the confusion comes from the wording 'Weapon Enhancement Bonus Equivalent', but I am pretty sure 'Equivalent' refers to the materials in this table:
DR Type Weapon Enhancement Bonus EquivalentCold iron/silver +3
Looking at the text:
Weapons with an enhancement bonus of +3 or greater can ignore some types of damage reduction, regardless of their actual material or alignment.
So it's really about enhancement. Ultimate Equipment calls the combination of enhancement (+1 to +5) and special abilities (such as vorpal) a 'modified bonus', meaning special abilities are not called enhancement.