Another Archetype question.


Rules Questions


"A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different."

Are a Swashbuckler, Gunslinger, or other class Deeds treated as one class feature all together OR is each deed treated like it's own class feature?

Is there an official FAQ on this?


Each is it's own class feature for the purposes of archetypes.

Scarab Sages

Junltd wrote:

"A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different."

Are a Swashbuckler, Gunslinger, or other class Deeds treated as one class feature all together OR is each deed treated like it's own class feature?

You are asking if replacing an individual deed qualifies as modifying the Deeds class feature?

Depends how it is worded. Usually, yes, modifying a deed will count as modifying the deeds class feature for the purposes of archetypes.

Though there are some odd exceptions out there. For example, A cleric's domain is a class feature, yet altering a domain with a subdomain isn't considered altering the class feature for archetype purposes. This relates to how the subdomain rules are worded.

The main thing is that the Archetype should cleanly alter the class. Having an archetype (or two) shouldn't result in confusing rules interactions that don't make sense or otherwise cause problems in game.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:

Archetype Stacking and Altering: What exactly counts as altering a class feature for the purpose of stacking archetypes?

In general, if a class feature grants multiple subfeatures, it’s OK to take two archetypes that only change two separate subfeatures. This includes two bard archetypes that alter or replace different bardic performances (even though bardic performance is technically a single class feature) or two fighter archetypes that replace the weapon training gained at different levels (sometimes referred to as “weapon training I, II, III, or IV”) even though those all fall under the class feature weapon training. However, if something alters the way the parent class feature works, such as a mime archetype that makes all bardic performances completely silent, with only visual components instead of auditory, you can’t take that archetype with an archetype that alters or replaces any of the sub-features. This even applies for something as small as adding 1 extra round of bardic performance each day, adding an additional bonus feat to the list of bonus feats you can select, or adding an additional class skill to the class. As always, individual GMs should feel free to houserule to allow small overlaps on a case by case basis, but the underlying rule exists due to the unpredictability of combining these changes.


Thanks Harry! Where does that come from?

This would seem to indicate that deeds would fall under this category.

Liberty's Edge

Junltd wrote:

Thanks Harry! Where does that come from?

This would seem to indicate that deeds would fall under this category.

It's from the help/faq section next to the Paizo blog in the grey topbar. That particular faq ruling was for the Advanced Players Guide, in particular.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another Archetype question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.