Android body slot + Mechanic exocortex mod armor slot mod


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Would this give me two single armor slots, or would this give me a merged two armor slot?

Quote:
Your exocortex allows you to apply any one of the following drone mods to yourself as if you were a drone with that mod installed: armor slot, ...
Quote:
Your drone gains an armor upgrade slot for an armor upgrade. If you do not already have an armor upgrade to install, you must purchase one separately. You can install the armor upgrade only if your drone has enough open upgrade slots to meet the upgrade’s requirements...
Quote:
Androids have a single armor upgrade slot in their bodies. Regardless of whether androids are wearing physical armor, they can use this slot to install any one armor upgrade that could be installed into light armor.
Quote:
Each suit of armor contains a certain number of upgrade slots. This represents the maximum number of times the armor can be modified while still functioning.

so would my body count as one piece of armor, and the exocortex count as another, or would both combined be considered a part of my body?


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't see any reason why you wouldn't just get a 2nd slot on your "body" or self. I think RAW you could use them for a 2-slot force field.


I agree with Khan. Since the drone upgrade adds an armor ability and the exocortex grants you the drone ability you should be fine.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

But is the Exocortex slot available through regular armor like the Android one? Doesn't look like it. In fact, the whole Exocortex Mods ability seems to have the problem that you can't use that mod with armor on.


where does it allow the android one to be available through normal armor? i thought those were two absolutely separate entities...?
and where are the exocortex mods disabled if you have armor on?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The android and mechanic mod armor slots would be practically useless if you couldn't use them while you are using armor. There is nothing in the rules that implies that you can't wear armor and use these slots. You are making an assumption.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Page 42: "Androids have a single armor upgrade slot in their bodies. Regardless of whether androids are wearing physical armor, they can use this slot to install any one armor upgrade that could be installed into light armor."
Emphasis mine. The Exocortex ability doesn't say this.


Fair enough, but the exocortex ability is allowing you to use a drones ability. Since a drone can't wear armor this clause would not be needed (for a drone). I think the issue here is one of writing. The didn't say you couldn't either. I think in this case it make the most sense to treat it like the android armor upgrade slot.

Dark Archive

So just a rule clarification here...

1. Can an Android Slot and a Armor Slot stack for one 2-slot mod (like a Purple Force Field)?

2. Does the Android Slot and the Mechanic 7th level Exocortex Mod Slot stack for one 2-slot mod (like a Purple Force Field)?


1. I would say no, the slots are in different places.
2. You'd have to use the Exocortex's slot to choose the armor slot, but I'd say yes, at that point you could install a 2 slot mod on your body.


Armor is extremely versatile in Starfinder. You can even get armor that allows you to use chameleon skin.

I don't think that wearing armor prevents anyone else from using class abilities; seems reasonable that it wouldn't uniquely punish exocortex mechanics.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Android body slot + Mechanic exocortex mod armor slot mod All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.