Question about found credits( possible spoilers for commencement )


Starfinder Society


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Will try to keep details to a minimum.

I asked about this in the errata thread, but didn't really get a clear answer. Most have said that any credit awards found are moot, that the only wealth gained by the pcs is what's listed on the chronicle sheet. Apparently credits are just for non society groups using the scenario, even if this isn't said anywhere. on a scenario specifically designed for society play. Yes, I'm aware of the rules on page 45 of the society rulebook, but it's not stated clearly in regards to credits, just in regard to items.

This strikes me as odd, particularly since a certain something in commencement that can be a long term reward requires the expenditure of credits, something 1st level pcs may not have access to depending on their starting equipment buy. It also feels weird telling them that they can't use any monetary rewards that are heavily implied to be there, such as the winnings from one of the missions.

So which is correct?

A. No credits whatsoever in scenario, only starting pocket credits may be used, no credit loot except for the end reward on the CS
B. credits found can be used, much like other mission loot, but anything left is turned in at the end, with the pcs then receiving the credit reward on the CS.
C. Credits found may be used, and any expenditures are subtracted from the final reward at the end on the CS.

The Exchange 5/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

1 person marked this as a favorite.

C.

If you use credits found in a scenario, then that entire amount of credits is subtracted from your rewards at the end.

I'll try to find the reference, but a previous Campaign Coordinator clarified that was how to handle such a situation with found gold in Pathfinder Society games.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Kevin Willis wrote:

C.

If you use credits found in a scenario, then that entire amount of credits is subtracted from your rewards at the end.

I'll try to find the reference, but a previous Campaign Coordinator clarified that was how to handle such a situation with found gold in Pathfinder Society games.

Thank you. I appreciate the clarification

Dark Archive 5/5 5/55/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Lafayette aka Cactus-Jack

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Some additional clarifications:

The credits on the chronicle sheets are based on the party finding / acquiring all of the possible loot during a scenario, pulling it together, selling it, then dividing the total equally among the party based on the party size that the scenario is written for.

With this in mind, each encounter has an amount of credits to subtract from the amount granted on the chronicle sheet should the players fail to overcome an encounter. This subtraction is only for failing an encounter that has rewards. If the party circumvents or creatively completes an encounter the Society Guides have language that specifies that the party 'finds' equivalent loot elsewhere.

This is also true for gold in Pathfinder Society scenarios.

I hope that this helps.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Michael Costello wrote:

Some additional clarifications:

The credits on the chronicle sheets are based on the party finding / acquiring all of the possible loot during a scenario, pulling it together, selling it, then dividing the total equally among the party based on the party size that the scenario is written for.

With this in mind, each encounter has an amount of credits to subtract from the amount granted on the chronicle sheet should the players fail to overcome an encounter. This subtraction is only for failing an encounter that has rewards. If the party circumvents or creatively completes an encounter the Society Guides have language that specifies that the party 'finds' equivalent loot elsewhere.

This is also true for gold in Pathfinder Society scenarios.

I hope that this helps.

Yes, it does. It just seemed odd that a level 1 scenario has parts that can potentially be solved by throwing money around, along with a reward that requires a credit investment....and they're finding/receiving all these credits, but can't use them to do any of the above.

2/5 5/5

If you have or have found 50 credits by the time the opportunity to buy the McGuffin comes along, you can buy it, and the 50 credits is deducted like any expense on the Chronicle.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Thank you


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

So, in summary, the procedure is as follows.

1. Characters that find credits as loot/rewards have access to use this during the scenario, but all expenditures are recorded

2. End of scenario, all loot gets turned into the vault, including any leftover credits from loot.

3. Players fill the starting credits block with whatever they had at game start (Probably best to ask for starting values at the beginning). Then you fill the appropriate reward in to the "credits garnered" box, and then in the "credits spent" box, whatever was spent, regardless of if it came from personal funds or the loot box.

4. Fill in the "remaining credits" box.

2/5 5/5

Yes

For an exception that proves the rule: 1-00 has some large optional expenditures, but the scenario gives you a separate credit account to pay for these that doesn't affect credits earned or spent.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Starfinder Society / Question about found credits( possible spoilers for commencement ) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Starfinder Society