Envoy's Inspiring Boost, Expanded Attunement, and Android Race


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey all, got a question here regarding the Inspiring Boost improvisation and it's add on Expanded Attunement.

Expanded Attunement read: "...You can use beneficial mind-affecting envoy improvisations to aid allies who usually would not be able to gain benefits from mind-affecting effects, such as constructs..."

Androids Racial profile says: "For effects targeting creature type, androids count as both humanoids and constructs (whichever effect is worse)"

This leads me to draw the conclusion that Inspiring Boost cannot be used on Android allies unless the Envoy has Expanded Attunement because not healing is worse than getting healed, and because without Expanded Attunement a construct cannot be healed.

Am I missing something that would allow beneficial effects to be used on Androids?

Sovereign Court

I believe it is intended to enable Envoys to use improvisations on robots ect. Androids should already benefit as they don't have immunity to mind-affecting effects.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is not an effect that targets creature type. Immunity to mind-affecting effects is likely a racial feature of constructs so all constructs by default are immune to mind-affecting effects. An android is a humanoid though, not a construct and lacks the immunity to mind-affecting that being a construct would grant and as none of the envoys improvisations have specific effects depending on creature type they should all function normally on Androids, excepting other shenanigans such as a deaf android.


^ What Velis said.


Androids are constructs and humanoids. It's part of the first line on the androids "Constructed" racial trait.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The reason that inspiring boost from a typical envoy wouldn't help your typical robot is that the robot is immune to mind effecting, not that he's a robot. A robot guard is hit with a backdoor ban on inspiring boost because his robot type makes him immune to mind effecting.

I don't think the android is: because the effect doesn't care about type (humanoid, or robot) it only cares about something that works on robots (mind effecting) it's not hit with a backdoor ban.


Also, the FAQ actually covers this one for once:

Quote:

When the constructed ability for androids says they count as both constructs and humanoids, whichever effect is worse, does that mean they cannot be targeted by a beneficial effect that only targets one of those two types, since not getting the benefit is "worse"?

No. When determining what abilities affect an android, and how, replace the first sentence of the constructed ability with the following. "For effects targeting creatures by type, androids count as both constructs and humanoids (whichever type allows an ability to affect them for abilities that affect only one type, and whichever is worse for abilities that affect both types)."


2 people marked this as a favorite.

But undead threads don't have the Constructed trait, so the Envoy could only affect the thread with Inspiring Boost if they did also have Expanded Attunement.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That said, there is a reason why one of my first house rules was "Undead do not get blanket immunity to Mind Affecting". It makes sense for *mindless* undead to be immune to mental powers. It does not make sense for perfectly mindful and completely sentient undead to be immune to such.


Metaphysician wrote:
That said, there is a reason why one of my first house rules was "Undead do not get blanket immunity to Mind Affecting". It makes sense for *mindless* undead to be immune to mental powers. It does not make sense for perfectly mindful and completely sentient undead to be immune to such.

I also use this house rule. It also applies to fully sapient constructs, but not the average robot.

Helps that mind thrust line of spells out a bit and was mostly a legacy carryover anyway in my opinion.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Envoy's Inspiring Boost, Expanded Attunement, and Android Race All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.