Armor upgrades and androids


Rules Questions


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Does anyone know if there is a rule somewhere that prevents stacking armor upgrades of the same type?

How does this affect androids, who effectively get an armor upgrade in their body in addition to upgrade slots their worn armor might have?

Just trying to clarify, as one of my androids is trying to stack radiation buffers (admittedly harmless). However, it would be good to know this for when everyone starts trying crazy stuff with Load Lifter.


Hmm, there's nothing explicitly saying you can't but I don't think it was intended to do so.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

I don't see anything preventing you from having more than one of the same upgrade. However, generally bonuses from the same option do not stack. So the biggest benefit I see is that it essentially gives you a back up unit if your upgrade runs out of charges.


Starfinder seems to have dropped the limitation that bonuses from the same option don't stack. I'm not sure if that was on purpose though. There is text that penalties from the same type of thing don't stack, but nothing for bonuses.


Melkiador wrote:
Starfinder seems to have dropped the limitation that bonuses from the same option don't stack. I'm not sure if that was on purpose though. There is text that penalties from the same type of thing don't stack, but nothing for bonuses.
Starfinder Core p266 wrote:
When multiple bonuses apply to the same value, different types of bonuses all apply, but in most cases bonuses of the same type do not add together (or “stack” with each other), unless a source specifies otherwise.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lost In Limbo wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Starfinder seems to have dropped the limitation that bonuses from the same option don't stack. I'm not sure if that was on purpose though. There is text that penalties from the same type of thing don't stack, but nothing for bonuses.
Starfinder Core p266 wrote:
When multiple bonuses apply to the same value, different types of bonuses all apply, but in most cases bonuses of the same type do not add together (or “stack” with each other), unless a source specifies otherwise.

That doesn't seem to contradict what I said. Many of the bonuses being talked about here are untyped, like the radiation buffer and the load lifter. The current text is that untyped bonuses always stack, with no limitation given for untyped bonuses from similar sources.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Thank you for the replies guys. Hoping that we'll get an official response.

As the upgrades are currently written, they 'seem' designed to only be taken once, but I definitely don't see this restriction explicitly laid out anywhere.

Also curious about how android would work with this restriction, given that their upgrade slot is on their body, rather than worn as an additional item (armor).

As written, a Load Lifter as an upgrade for an android upgrade slot would be absolutely useless (thankfully), as it would take up the 'one upgrade' even though it grants more slots.

I wish additional restrictions on stacking upgrade modules were as clear as they are in the Computers section.


Justin McKeon wrote:

Thank you for the replies guys. Hoping that we'll get an official response.

As the upgrades are currently written, they 'seem' designed to only be taken once, but I definitely don't see this restriction explicitly laid out anywhere.

Also curious about how android would work with this restriction, given that their upgrade slot is on their body, rather than worn as an additional item (armor).

As written, a Load Lifter as an upgrade for an android upgrade slot would be absolutely useless (thankfully), as it would take up the 'one upgrade' even though it grants more slots.

I wish additional restrictions on stacking upgrade modules were as clear as they are in the Computers section.

The stacking mechanics will be basis of this and how the internal slot that an Android gets vs that of "normal" armor slot upgrades. The internal slot I view as an armor upgrade slot. Ideally more clarification is needed to help clear up this question as this will become more frequent as people play Androids.


I would also appreciate clarification on how item redundancy/stacking-effects are intended to work, particularly as it regards androids.

Kudos to Justin, and a preemptive thanks to the staff.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

*nudge*


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The "doesn't stack from the same source" was always more of an unwritten rule. Except for spells, specifically, I don't think it was even called out or otherwise stated in writing in a book as a general rule for Pathfinder, much less Starfinder.

I imagine that the "rule" still applies equally to both systems.


In PF the not stacking was a written rule, somewhere in the back of the CRB.

Ravingdork wrote:

The "doesn't stack from the same source" was always more of an unwritten rule. Except for spells, specifically, I don't think it was even called out or otherwise stated in writing in a book as a general rule for Pathfinder, much less Starfinder.

I imagine that the "rule" still applies equally to both systems.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Yes, in the magic chapter, in regards to spells. There really isn't anything (to my memory) that applied said rule to anything besides spells aside from developer commentary/FAQ.


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Thanks. I will just disallow duplicate mods (unless the mod specifies otherwise).

I will also treat an Android's free mod slot as going onto their actual armor, for sanity.


Can you quote the text that makes it sound like you can't have duplicate mods? Honestly, none of them seem problematic to me.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

"Is that a gun in your pants, or are you just happy to see me" she said, just as the android operative unzips
his pants and activates his quick release sheath. "Both" he says as he pulls out his laser pistol.


Android in Power Armor, wearing Light armor in the cockpit. So you could have 4 from the Flight Frame, another 3-6 from armorn and the then the personal unit? I can see it getting pricey fast.


Justin McKeon wrote:


As written, a Load Lifter as an upgrade for an android upgrade slot would be absolutely useless (thankfully), as it would take up the 'one upgrade' even though it grants more slots.

What? My book says Load Lifter adds to the bulk they can carry, nothing about extra slots.

I can see this being a great option for Android Soldiers. Load Lifter offsets the bulk of any heavy armor or heavy weapon or some combinations of heavy armor + basic weapon. Combined with Mercenary Theme, an industrial backpack and only Str 11 you could carry 10 bulk before encumbered.


LOAD LIFTER
This set of artificial muscles increases the amount of bulk you can carry while wearing your armor by 3.

Literally says wearing your armor. You can't be considered to be "wearing" something installed in your body.

Note: this distinction is important if your GM likes to catch your characters with their pants down.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Armor upgrades and androids All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.