Style Feats outside of Combat


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Style feats say "you cannot use a style feat before combat begins" but some of them have uses out of combat. Can they be started out of combat, but just immediately kick you out when combat starts? Can you just start up a combat with nothing if you want to use them out of combat?

Specifically:
Perfect Style (Flame) gives you Fire Resistance 5, and you want to walk across some Magma. Can you just turn it on without a combat and waltz across?

Sisterhood style lets you share a teamwork feat while it's active. I want to share Stealth Syngery so we can sneak around together. Can we?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies, Representative - D20 Hobbies

Style feats end when combat ends.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

May I interest you in a bag of rats to declare combat on?

On a more serious question, there are plenty of non-combat encounters that are still encounters, would Style Feats be allowed during those?


by raw it end when combat end so you can't use the style outside of combat.

for me i would say that depending of the situation and location and depending of the style i would allow it to function.

if you are in a settlement and use your style people will look at you bizarrely and with cautious (its a combat style after all) and guard might try to either tell you to stop or outright arrest you depending of the tension in the settlement and your race.

if you try to use the style you just describe to pass across some magma or any other type or hot and burning place i would let you do it.

but that's more house rule to make more sense of what you can do than what the rules allow you do to

so in all, always ask your GM by explaining the situation and your GM might allow it depending on how much he tend to stick to RAW


^-^. I am sure I speak for many on the boards...
If it isn't about combat, why are we even talking about it?

More seriously, I would allow style feats to function outside of combat, where reasonable. Your two examples are reasonable to me. Style is Everything after all.

RAW goes against you though, and this is the rules forum. In this forum, No.

Scarab Sages

So the official answer is 'only during combat.' So you can only run across magma if there is something to fight.

The nuanced answer is 'work it out with your GM.' I tend to give a little leeway and say that 'sufficiently stressful' situations allow you to use style feats. For example, I would say that you could activate monkey style for the bonus to climb/acrobatics checks in a storm on a pirate ship in order to climb up to the rigging and fix stuff. But just making any old climb check? No.

The real reason, I think, that style feats don't activate outside of combat is so that people can't have them active all the time. Like, my Monkey style guy still suffers a prone penalty AC while he's laying down, reading a book, because he's not concentrating on monkey style.

So, personally, I would say you could activate perfect flame in short bursts to cross magma, but if you get caught unawares by it, by like a spell makes the floor lava or magma pouring into the room, then you suffer same problems as anyone else.


I think I would let most style feats work outside of combat with something like a Concentration check. We are definitely in the realm of homerules here though.

Doing this would certainly help round out the melee focused though, and would encourage them to act more outside of combat.

This is a terrible thing and must be stopped at all costs!. ^-^


Rules have been covered, but I'm definitely in the "depends on the situation" house rule camp. Especially because many forms of martial arts can be practiced without a partner. (The only one I can think of where you really can't is Judo, and you still could for holds, just not throws which is the majority of it)

Like I would allow monkey style for climbing, as well as the ability to hop up as a swift action (it's just a kip up really). But I wouldn't have you negate the prone penalties if you were caught unawares. The reason being, the first two you were using what you've practiced, your body knows how to do it, but the last one you weren't actually ready for combat.

I might even let you activate it before combat starts if you're aware (conversation clearly going that way, you're being threatened, etc)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Since "only during combat" is a ridiculous restriction, have a fellow party member come at you, bro.


blahpers wrote:
Since "only during combat" is a ridiculous restriction, have a fellow party member come at you, bro.

Counterproductive advice. If the table says no, then no.


Daw wrote:
blahpers wrote:
Since "only during combat" is a ridiculous restriction, have a fellow party member come at you, bro.
Counterproductive advice. If the table says no, then no.

As you said, this is the rules forum. Combat is combat.


Combat is the only part of the game that uses rounds and initiative. Therefore, if the players are taking their turns in order, one round at a time, they are in combat.

Markov Spiked Chain wrote:

Specifically:

Perfect Style (Flame) gives you Fire Resistance 5, and you want to walk across some Magma. Can you just turn it on without a combat and waltz across?

Sisterhood style lets you share a teamwork feat while it's active. I want to share Stealth Syngery so we can sneak around together. Can we?

Is the GM having the party move across the magma in initiative order one round at a time? Is the character allowed to take a swift action? If yes, then the character can take a swift action to deal with his or her challenge against the rock-melting heat. On the other hand, if the party is in a caravan moving past a lava field and the GM says that they take 1 fire damage every minute due to the heat, then they are not in combat.

Is the party making Stealth skill checks every round while moving in initiative order? Is the character allowed to take a swift action? If yes, then the character can take a swift action to share a teamwork feat via Sisterhood Style. On the other hand, if the party says that they are sneaking up to the castle wall 200 feet away while avoiding the gaze of the sentries on the wall, and the GM asks for a single Stealth check from each character for the entire distance without putting the checks into initiative order, then they are not in combat.

Likewise, if a party is going to climb a cliff and the barbarian wants to rage for bonus Strength for climbing, then the GM has the choice of saying, yes, we can use rounds so that the barbarian can rage during those rounds, or no, it is only a skill check and not combat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Easiest way would be to broaden your definition. So instead of combat say encounter. A lot of things can be an encounter.


I would say that using a teamwork feat to share stealth among a party would be legitimate under the rules if you were using stealth to avoid a combat, e.g. sneaking around sentries. But I'd say no to using it to play hide and seek with the neighbor's kids you're baby sitting.


blahpers wrote:
Since "only during combat" is a ridiculous restriction, have a fellow party member come at you, bro.

There is an easier way to do it. 'Attack' that square to make sure it doesn't have invisible creatures in it. Nothing there? Move and make another 'attack'. Looks silly but the game allows you to combat thin air... ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Style Feats outside of Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.