Thundercaller


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

i am not asking anything about shadowbard, or exquisite spells or dual thundercalls or anyother BS like that

I want one thing discussed.

Starting a bardic performance is a standard action, but it can be maintained each round as a free action.

Thunder Call (Su):

maintained or ends

what is the required action.

in my understanding its a free action to maintain said performance round by round. leaving you free to do other effects be they combat, spells, movement etc.

so before i blow a gasket with a good friend of mine over this issue im asking for a lil clarification.

Preferably from some PFS venture Captains or the designers seeing as it is also PFS legal.


ends. It's a one and done performance.

Sovereign Court

r u a designer or a venture captain?


Evan Riggs wrote:
r u a designer or a venture captain?

You are unlikely to get a developer post here. You might want to try one of the "Ask a dev" threads in off topic.

Venture Captains have no ability issue binding decisions on how the rues work. For that you need a decision from a member of campaign leadership.

The Exchange

Look at how at sound striker works. Deals less damage at the cost of more rounds, an attack roll, always a standard action, does not work with performance extending effects, does not have a scaling stun. So before you 'blow' a gasket think on that.

Sovereign Court

my gasket issues in the presentational abilities of my associate and my autism capabilities of processing the way its presented.

Sczarni

Evan Riggs wrote:
r u a designer or a venture captain?

Prior to Thursday, there used to be guidance Stickied at the top of the Forum on how to go about making a post. "Asking only for an 'official response'" was discouraged, and specifically doing so (as you're doing here) ensured that your question would not be answered.

Just as in life, there is a process and hierarchy of handling rules questions. You don't automatically jump to the Supreme Court.

If you are unhappy with the answers you're getting from us here, you can take it up with your local Venture Officer.

If the rules in question are genuinely ambiguous, you can come back here and try to get it FAQ'd.

You can also simultaneously link that thread to the PFS Forum's "Compilation of Campaign Clarifications" thread, and possibly have a PFS-specific Campaign rule issued.

But all of that takes time, because everyone that works at Paizo is busy.

Instead of "blowing a gasket", you may want to play another character until you find your answer. Or settle for the answers you get from here and your VO, and go back to enjoying the game.

Sczarni

Chess Pwn wrote:
ends. It's a one and done performance.

I endorse this ruling as well.

It's actually more powerful, because eventually you have the ability to start a performance as a move action, meaning you can zap twice a round.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies, Representative - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
ends. It's a one and done performance.

I endorse this ruling as well.

It's actually more powerful, because eventually you have the ability to start a performance as a move action, meaning you can zap twice a round.

+1

Also in the Sound Striker thread where it got errata, the proposed errata was pointed out to be weaker than Thunderstriker. A developer pointed out that Thunderstriker is too strong, so that would be a good thing and that perhaps Thunerstriker would get errata too if it became an issue.


Problem is, none of the paper back titles get errata.

Thundercaller is most definitely broken.
I still like Sound Striker--actually my favorite Bard archetype. No, not looking for maximum damage output. Just something cool to replace some class features I rarely use.


Nefreet wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
ends. It's a one and done performance.

I endorse this ruling as well.

It's actually more powerful, because eventually you have the ability to start a performance as a move action, meaning you can zap twice a round.

Debatable, there's decent support and people that view that the bard can only start 1 performance a round, regardless of the actions it takes to start a performance, though there's also support that there's no limit other than the actions it takes to start the performance, so again, something that you'd need to get clarified or assume the worst and be safe.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Thundercaller All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.