#8-24 Raid On The Cloudborne Keep


GM Discussion

51 to 64 of 64 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge 5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka thistledown

Kevin Willis wrote:
HoloGnome PFS wrote:

This morning, I made a battle map and schematic from scratch for the final encounter to accompany (or replace) the paizo map. So, they should be OK to post. I hope you guys find them useful. If you think there should be any changes/additions, let me know.

Here is the link:
See the final post in this thread

Has anyone else taken a look at these maps? It looks like these maps show decreasing wind speed as you move inwards. Maybe I'm missing something but the scenario says the winds are hurricane force within 5 feet of the wall and moderate everywhere else.

I'm printing maps today, so I'd also like an answer to this.

1/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta aka Suede

If I remember right from when I ran it the room information says the outside area is Hurricane force, and everything else was Moderate. That's how I handled it.

3/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta

Prepping this to run next week. Re Zephyr's offer to assist with some spell-casting:

a) does he accompany the party aboard the ship? I'm assuming yes, because otherwise his offer of spell casting help doesn't mean much.

b) does he accompany the party into the Tower of Purest Air? I'm assuming no, but I can't find any mention either way, just that he can't actually fight alongside the party.

c) regarding his offer to prep spells for the party, does anyone have suggestions for what might actually be useful to them? I could see things really bogging down while the party reviews the entire Druid list from the CRB and APG. It seems like it might be helpful to give them some suggestions and the group I'm running for includes some relatively newer players so this spell assistance might actually be important for them.

Shadow Lodge 5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka thistledown

When I played, he did not come with us on the boat. He was willing to put up buffs the night before and the morning that we boarded. So it was at least helpful with the mercenaries on the boat.

I think some of us got Share Language. We also looked at Delay Poison, Endure Elements, and Goodberry.

3/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta

I was wondering if I should offer the party things like Barkskin or Resist Energy, stuff that is 10 min/level duration, meaning that it will last only 1 hour with Zephyr casting. I suppose that could be rationalized if he is on the ship with them and casts just before they ambush the elementals, or if the party decides to attack the elementals when they arrive at the dock. Similarly, if he goes on the ship with them to the Tower, he could cast these buffs before they disembarked and went inside. But these are pretty significant advantages (especially if anyone has the idea to have him cast Protection from Energy (Electricity)), so I don't want to skew the whole scenario if that wasn't the intention. When I played it I don't think we got any spells cast (can't remember if they were even offered), but we were a pretty min-maxed group, which I think this group (that I'm running for) may well not be.

3/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta

On p. 7, in the discussion of Diplomacy with Capt. Beysal, the request that she accept a bribe "counts as lengthy or complicated aid" which should increase the DC of the check by 5, but it doesn't appear that this modifier has been added to the DC given in the text.

3/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta

In Encounter A, the scenario itself calls for Medium air elementals at low tier, and Advanced Large ones at high tier, but the stat blocks at the end list stats for small and medium air elementals.

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Abraham Z. wrote:
In Encounter A, the scenario itself calls for Medium air elementals at low tier, and Advanced Large ones at high tier, but the stat blocks at the end list stats for small and medium air elementals.

The stat blocks for the Advanced Large elementals are inline in Encounter A.

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Abraham Z. wrote:
On p. 7, in the discussion of Diplomacy with Capt. Beysal, the request that she accept a bribe "counts as lengthy or complicated aid" which should increase the DC of the check by 5, but it doesn't appear that this modifier has been added to the DC given in the text.

The DC is correct if she is Helpful.

I think what got missed is that there is a 10-point jump between Helpful and Friendly (as opposed to the 5-point difference between every other step). Its also a bit confusing as that 10-point difference only applies to making requests, not to shifting attitude from Indifferent to Helpful (where you only need to exceed the DC by 5).

Add 5 to the DC if she is Indifferent or Friendly.

Dark Archive Venture-Agent, Washington—West Seattle aka melferburque

how do the hurricane mechanics work? I think I'm missing something. I see the tactic of blowing the PCs into the hurricane gale winds at the edges of the tower and they spin counterclockwise, but for how long/far? is it safe to assume the corkscrew up and away from the glyph at the bottom? and do they take damage from this?

1/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta aka Suede

You need to go to the environmental hazards section of the core rulebook and look up hurricanes. I forget all the numbers, but medium creatures get tossed somewhere around 1d4 x 10 feet a round and take damage if they fail strength checks. Anyone flying in the winds takes a -12 check on flight checks.

And there are specific mechanics in the scenario for how to get out of the wind, either through a strength check to push off the wall or a normal flight check (with the penalty) to break out. I think it's DC 10 strength, and if it just uses standard hurricane numbers it's a DC 30 flight check.

I think the storm may also automatically deal lightning damage to anyone trapped inside of it when it fires off lightning at initiative 10.

Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

Linda Zayas-Palmer wrote:
Jared Thaler wrote:
When a Sylph casts elemental body (or wild shapes into an air elemental) its type doesn't change. Does that mean it gets to keep all it's gear? Does it get to still cast spells?

As to the second, I talked to someone on the design team about it and the answer was that there aren't clear rules on that point, so it's GM discretion. That could be an interesting FAQ question to put over in the main rules forum.

If I were GMing this (and this is by no means an official ruling), I would have their items meld, because elementals don't have many magic item slots, and let them cast spells that have verbal components only, but not somatic or material ones. Practically speaking, I'd probably keep them in sylph form unless the last line of the tactics triggers and they move in to attack in melee, and then just have them make slam attacks for ease.

A creature using elemental body or wild shape never changes type.

According to the polymorph subschool their gear would meld as the creature they are changing into has the elemental type.

Polymorph subschool wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

Shadow Lodge 5/5 ⦵⦵ Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka thistledown

Elementals can wear armor and wield weapons (See valley of veiled flame) so I don't see why their gear would have to merge.

Dark Archive 5/5

Gear meld auto.
You have to drop or give gear to someone to hold. Take back wpn, etc... and have party help dress you in armor.

51 to 64 of 64 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / #8-24 Raid On The Cloudborne Keep All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.