Flask thrower and the alchemist


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So the discussion on splash damage lead to me wondering a few things.

1. Can an Alchemist use a Flask thrower to throw their bombs?

2. When doing so does INT modifier from Throw anything still apply? It is called that but it also just states it applies the damage to splash weapons.

Throw anything alchemist:
Throw Anything (Ex): All alchemists gain the Throw Anything feat as a bonus feat at 1st level. An alchemist adds his Intelligence modifier to damage done with splash weapons, including the splash damage if any. This bonus damage is already included in the bomb class feature

3. Can you enchant the flask thrower and if so do the enchantments apply to the splash weapons(whether bombs or otherwise)?

4. If all of the above is true what would apply to the minimum damage calculation for a bomb with both static pluses and rolled damage enchantments.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1) Tricky. Bombs are not strictly "alchemical weapons" from the mundane equipment category. Then again, neither are caltrops, also mentioned in the item's description. Unless a clarification happens, I would allow it since the description of how the device works makes it look plausible.

2) Yes. Throw Anything doesn't strictly care how you deliver the splash weapon, just that it's officially a splash weapon. (As distinct from things that are merely thrown like a splash weapon, like grenades.) When in doubt whether something qualifies as a true splash weapon, I will refer to the table in Ultimate Equipment.

3) You can probably enchant it to have increased to-hit. Since it has a damage value of "--" you can't increase its damage by enchanting.

Observe that the flask thrower's weapon entry is different from that of for example a sling: a sling list damage for the weapon, not the ammo. The flask thrower doesn't.

4) So I don't think the flask thrower lets you do additional damage. It's big purpose is to extend your range.

Sovereign Court

Addendum: the text on Nethys matches that in Gnomes of Golarion, currently the only PFS-legal source for flask throwers. I don't know if the text changed in Adventurer's Armory 2.

Sovereign Court

If its enchantable then distance would definitely be a good one for alchemist to put on it.


Ascalaphus wrote:
I don't know if the text changed in Adventurer's Armory 2.

Nope. ^_^


So on #3&#4 Ascalaphus you don't think it could be made flaming or anything like that.

Scarab Sages

this doesn't extend the range of an Alchemist Bomb.

Alchemist Bomb range is = 20'

Flask Thrower range is = 20'

so... unless it's enchanted with "distance" or something...

Sovereign Court

Talonhawke wrote:
So on #3&#4 Ascalaphus you don't think it could be made flaming or anything like that.

I don't think so. I believe it's different from a bow. Bows and slings both list a damage amount with the bow and sling, not with the ammunition.

It's a weird enough item that I could be wrong however. Would be a good one for a Clarification.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flask thrower and the alchemist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.