Superstitious bloodrager casting self-buff spells


Rules Questions


The superstition rage power says that the barbarian/bloodrager must attempt to resist all spells, even those cast by allies. My question, like those before me, is does this apply to spells you cast on yourself such as personal spells? I have a couple reasons why I think it may not.

1. You are not always considered your ally, and I would cite this as a case when counting yourself as an ally does not make sense. Why try to resist an affect which you yourself impose? This is purely subjective of course but arguable nonetheless.

2. Page 214 of the CRB states that you do not receive a saving throw against a spell if the target is yourself. Superstition does not seem to allow a save attempt vs things that do not normally require one.

Thoughts? I have a strange feeling that if this did work I would have seen a lot of it by now...


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
FAQ wrote:

Ally: Do you count as your own ally?

You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible. Thus, "your allies" almost always means the same as "you and your allies."

Being superstitious of spells you cast yourself feels very much like it would 'make no sense'. In addition, the page of the CRB you mentioned states that even if you did have to make saves against yourself, you are not allowed to.

Either way, you are not resisting your self-buffs.


you are never superstitious of abilities you use on yourself unless you are being controlled and forced to injure yourself with a spell


I find it a bit weird that Bloodragers can take superstition... As they are casters themselves...


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Skull wrote:

I find it a bit weird that Bloodragers can take superstition... As they are casters themselves...

They're superstitious of that weakling bookworm magic. Magic that comes from the burning fire in your blood never turns you into a toad or curses your land.


If the spell is personal, has a target of You, and does not allow for a saving throw, then you don't have to make one.

If the spell targets willing creatures only (such as Polymorph), then you cannot target yourself with it. ["While raging, the barbarian cannot be a willing target of any spell"]

If it allows for a saving throw (such as Bull's Strength), you must attempt the saving throw. ["must make saving throws to resist all spells"]

I don't think there's any spell that has a target of You and is hindered by saving throws/spell resistance.

Remember that specific overrides general. The rules for a specific rage power overrides the general rules for willingly accepting spells or forfeiting saving throws.


its come up in superstitious barbarian and multiclassing into something that can cast spells, paizo has ruled you never are forced to save against one of your own spells while superstitious raging


Lady-J wrote:
its come up in superstitious barbarian and multiclassing into something that can cast spells, paizo has ruled you never are forced to save against one of your own spells while superstitious raging

I'd love to know where you get this from as it's not in the FAQ for the CRB.


Nixitur wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
its come up in superstitious barbarian and multiclassing into something that can cast spells, paizo has ruled you never are forced to save against one of your own spells while superstitious raging
I'd love to know where you get this from as it's not in the FAQ for the CRB.

it was a post i saw from mark or jj a while back like 6+ months back and it was probably from a few years ago


Nixitur wrote:
Lady-J wrote:
its come up in superstitious barbarian and multiclassing into something that can cast spells, paizo has ruled you never are forced to save against one of your own spells while superstitious raging
I'd love to know where you get this from as it's not in the FAQ for the CRB.

I would call it an extrapolation of the SR rules. Casting spell on yourself bypasses your SR.


I'd live to see that quote @Lady-J.

I'm looking to play a Bloodrager but their saves aren't that good. Taking the superstitious rage power really solves that however if I can't cast my buffs then I might as well just be a regular barbarian.

Do you think you could find this post or give some more clues as to where it could be as I have been unable to find it?

Regards,

Crynn

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Superstitious bloodrager casting self-buff spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.