Polymorph and holding the charge


Rules Questions


Suppose I cast a touch spell and then use a spell-like or supernatural polymorph ability to change shape. Am I still holding the charge?

EXAMPLE:

Round 1: Druid casts cure moderate wounds, but doesn't touch anyone.
Round 2: Druid wildshapes into a bat.
Round 3: Druid flies up to ally and touches them to discharge the spell.


Using supernatural abilities doesn't discharge a touch spell by the rules (although a GM wouldn't be totally crazy to rule that this is similar enough to casting a spell that it should apply.)

It seems unlikely though that your friend who needs cure moderate wounds now, will appreciate it getting to him in three rounds.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

A spell-like ability would likely discharge the held spell since it is in many ways like casting a spell, but a supernatural ability would not.


Thanks!


Agreed, by the rules using a supernatural ability wont discharge the spell. However, a GM would be well within their right to say it's similar enough that you can't hold a charge while doing so.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph and holding the charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.