Can a Golem see an Invisible creature?


Rules Questions


This question came up tonight: Can a Golem see an Invisible creature?

I checked the FAQ but did not find anything on this.
If you know the answer, please let me know - and also include your references/links proving your point - THANKS for your HELP!

TOS


Why would they?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Golem by default don't have blindsense or similar senses...so they don't see invisible creatures.

Now if you are asking, if there some golems out there, who can see invisible creatures...I'm sure there are.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Assuming this is due to golems being immune to magic: No. No more than a creature with high spell resistance can see invisible creatures. Immunity to magic generally functions as "unbeatable spell resistance". Some creatures with magic-immunity even use that very terminology, though it seems golems generally do not. Immunity to magic only applies to magical effects being cast at the golem. Something that makes a target invisible isn't affecting the golem directly with magic.

Invisibility is usually a consequence of magic, but not a direct result of magic targeting the golem. In the same vein, something like "soften earth and stone" used to create a cave-in would still hurt the golem.


Nope. What's more, most golems can be completely blinded by glitterdust.


So basically, what you guys are saying is that a 'construct' has only the vision modes defined in the Construct type which are:
Low-light vision.
Darkvision 60 feet.

The fact that they have <<Immunity to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms).>> would not imply they cannot be fooled by the Illusion/Glammer that is the Invisibility spell?

TOS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Invisibility is a glamer. "A glamer spell changes a subject’s sensory qualities, making it look, feel, taste, smell, or sound like something else, or even seem to disappear." It is not a mind-affecting spell, nor is it one that a creature is immune to.

But it can be pierced by special sight or senses. Golems do not have these senses unless specified.

Grand Lodge

You don't get a save vs an invisible person. So no, they don't.


The default assumption for all creatures is that they see with the functional equivalent of a human eye except where otherwise noted.

While this may not make sense for many creatures, like skeletons who have no eyes or organs of any kind, it's a useful baseline and helps with table variation.

That said, for home games, I can see a lot of reasons to change that assumption to fit your campaign. Like maybe zombies only get around via sense of smell. Maybe constructs sense vibrations in the ground and/or air. Maybe demons can sense people with innocent blood.

The rules keep things fairly simple though, probably so you don't get bogged down with exceptions.


Create Mr. Pitt wrote:

Invisibility is a glamer. "A glamer spell changes a subject’s sensory qualities, making it look, feel, taste, smell, or sound like something else, or even seem to disappear." It is not a mind-affecting spell, nor is it one that a creature is immune to.

But it can be pierced by special sight or senses. Golems do not have these senses unless specified.

This is the reason.

Invisibility is an illusion, but people too often assume illusions mean mind affecting. Many illusions are mind-affecting, but glamers are not.

Glamers actually change what something looks like, including making it look like its not there. It's not like it only become invisible in your mind. The magic warps light around the creature, lets you see through where it would be.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes, golems are immune to Invisibility.

You cannot cast the spell on them.

You can, however, cast the spell on yourself and sneak past a golem while invisible.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Golem see an Invisible creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.