What's the DC of a Poison acquired through Wild Shape? What if it's not a Druid?


Rules Questions


The rules say

Quote:
The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

That's great and all, if you're casting the spell. Wild Shape is a SU ability. Even if we go by that (which would be 5 for Beast Shape III), what stat do we use?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Ask your GM


i would use the spell you are emulating with wild shape and your wisdom modifier but i understand that this is very unclear. On could also argue that according to this FAQ (http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9o6x) you use the level derived from the minimum level when you get the spell.


It's pretty wild that however many years into Pathfinder we are, this fairly basic question about a core class's highlight feature remains unanswered.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Godferret wrote:
It's pretty wild that however many years into Pathfinder we are, this fairly basic question about a core class's highlight feature remains unanswered.

We have two answers. It's the GM's job to pick between. The two answers are going to give the same answer (or very close) for single classed characters, so it shouldn't matter too much?


I see that reference to the DC of the spell, but since poison DCs are almost always based on Constitution, my instinct would be to go with either that ability score or the spellcasting ability score. I would need specifics to decide.


Thanks for reinforcing my confusion and linking to that other lovely thread.
I'll just get my DM to rule on it then, as much as he shouldn't have to.


iirc, the DC for most of a character's stuff that allows a DC such as Stunning Fist is like 10 + one of the character's ability mods + 1/2 character level.

But I really don't know what what the rules say, or even if they say: I'm just guessing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What's the DC of a Poison acquired through Wild Shape? What if it's not a Druid? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.