Coup de Grace and playing possom


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

If a creature is pretending to be unconscious, but isn't actually helpless, and another creature attempts a Coup De Grace, what happens?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

My guess? It would be a normal attack against a flat footed foe. The creature "playing possum" would be flat footed because he definitely is not doing anything to avoid the attack -- but he is also not "helpless", which is a required condition for a coup de grace.

And if that creature survives and remains conscious through the attack, it is virtually certain that his reaction to the attack would show that he is in fact still conscious.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't think this is covered exactly under the rules, so it would be up to the GM, but this is how I see it playing out:

First the creature playing possum would need to succeed on a bluff check (possibly disguise if it was set up beforehand with fake wounds) to trick his opponent into thinking he was dead. A slight of hand check might also be required if he is armed to keep a grip on his weapon while not letting on that he still holds it.

If all that succeeded and the opponent attempts a coup de grace, I would allow the target to A: not react at all and take the full damage from a coup de grace (possibly after making a fort save or some other check to continue the ruse) or B: take an AOO (that a coup de grace provokes from any threatening opponent) and than proceed to let the opponent convert his attack into a single melee attack with his weapon. Since the coup de grace is a full round action to perform he would not be able to convert it into a full attack, but would proceed with a regular attack.

That is how I see it being the most fair, but there are many different ways I guess it could go depending on the GM.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber
Jayder22 wrote:

I don't think this is covered exactly under the rules, so it would be up to the GM, but this is how I see it playing out:

First the creature playing possum would need to succeed on a bluff check (possibly disguise if it was set up beforehand with fake wounds) to trick his opponent into thinking he was dead. A slight of hand check might also be required if he is armed to keep a grip on his weapon while not letting on that he still holds it.

If all that succeeded and the opponent attempts a coup de grace, I would allow the target to A: not react at all and take the full damage from a coup de grace (possibly after making a fort save or some other check to continue the ruse) or B: take an AOO (that a coup de grace provokes from any threatening opponent) and than proceed to let the opponent convert his attack into a single melee attack with his weapon. Since the coup de grace is a full round action to perform he would not be able to convert it into a full attack, but would proceed with a regular attack.

That is how I see it being the most fair, but there are many different ways I guess it could go depending on the GM.

This is exactly how I'd rule at my table.

The Exchange

1. Creature continues to pretend to be unconscious, does nothing and is therefore voluntarily helpless, Coup De Grace works normally.

2. Creature moves/reacts in some way to the circumstance, chooses that moment to attack, run, or just move. And is clearly not unconscious but can not be hit automatically by Coup De Grace (If he moves out of the square, AoO, if he stays put, CDG attack completes, but it's not auto hit/crit it's normal attack roll against prone AC.)

Also if the creature is reacting I would be curious how it was knowing the CDG was coming then to react at just the right moment.
Did someone Say they were going to do it? He would need a perception check to know it was about to come at that moment (barring what was said being "I am going to CDG this guy now").
Was he KO'd with eyes open? The opponents should get a Perception check to notice a blink, or eye movement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Coup de Grace and playing possom All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.