Bladed brush really need an errata or a FAQ


Rules Questions

201 to 212 of 212 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

What I am saying is not that you are not using two hands to use the weapon, but that you are not making any attacks with your off hand. Specifically because to make attacks with your off hand you have to not be using a two handed weapon.

Using a two handed weapon precludes off hand attacks. Ergo you cannot be making attacks with your off hand.


Next point is the line about treating it as a one handed weapon. What does this mean? Does it mean I can use it in one hand? Because that's how I read that.


Well, the way handedness works is that it implies your off-hand is occupied with utilizing a two-handed weapon or using one in two hands. Hence why you can't make greatsword attacks and off-hand armour spike attacks.

You do have an off-hand, but it is busy with your two-handed weapon.

Unless we want to bring up the handedness debate again for like, the millionth time.

I'm pretty sure that is the least weird aspect of this feat. In fact, I'm surprised that is in debate at all because I thought that part was clear. It's how it interacts with stuff like Spell Combat that it gets weird for some people, and understandably given that it interacts with class features but makes no mention to other effects like somatic components.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Next point is the line about treating it as a one handed weapon. What does this mean? Does it mean I can use it in one hand? Because that's how I read that.

You treat it as a one-handed weapon for feats and class features. Not for handedness. So like, you get 1.5x Strength, you can't wield a shield or another weapon in the other hand, but Power Attack is only 1x and you can use Slashing Grace, or utilize swashbuckler features with it.

At least, that's what my opinion is at this point.


That would suggest that if you have a non-hand secondary weapon then you could two weapon fight. In addition since it is treated as a one handed weapon for all class abilities it meets the prerequisites for spell combat, especially since it meets the one handed for two weapon fighting too as it meets for all class abilities and feats.

I agree the visual is a bit weird but the wording stats all class abilities and feats.

Honestly there is no way to really declare without going into the handiness debate again because it literally forces it back open.

Unhindering shield should function with it as well but unhindering Shield already would due to unhindering shield's wording.


Later point:
If the feat read:
"When wielding a glaive, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing or slashing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a duelist’s or swashbuckler’s precise strike)."

Then it would have the same effect (since you are not attacking with a weapon in your off hand, you are attacking with a two handed weapon) and we wouldn't have the confusion beyond the question of what 'treat as' means, which would be easier to clear up, since you are still using it two handed.


Quote:
Then it would have the same effect (since you are not attacking with a weapon in your off hand, you are attacking with a two handed weapon)

Attacking with both hands kind of, by definition, means that you're using both your main and off-hands as part of the attack. That's sort of the whole crux of the 'hands of effort' rule.

Stop trying to be too clever with your interpretations and it becomes a lot more straight forward.


Squiggit wrote:
Quote:
Then it would have the same effect (since you are not attacking with a weapon in your off hand, you are attacking with a two handed weapon)

Attacking with both hands kind of, by definition, means that you're using both your main and off-hands as part of the attack. That's sort of the whole crux of the 'hands of effort' rule.

Stop trying to be too clever with your interpretations and it becomes a lot more straight forward.

Then the feat literally does nothing. Since I am using a one handed weapon in two hands. Which means there is no question what is going on with power attack as again I am using a one handed weapon in two hands.

The crux of the handiness was that the hand is used for two handed attacks meaning you can't make an attack with a weapon in your "off hand".

Heck we have an FAQ that states you can hold two weapons take no extra attacks and switch off between the two and never make an attack with a weapon in your off hand.


Abraham spalding wrote:


Then the feat literally does nothing.

Or alternatively, the feat does exactly what it says it does and lets you treat a glaive as one handed for class features that require a one handed weapon and lets you use things like precise strike.

Why insist the feat is broken when it can easily be interpreted to, y'know, not be?


Squiggit wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:


Then the feat literally does nothing.

Or alternatively, the feat does exactly what it says it does and lets you treat a glaive as one handed for class features that require a one handed weapon and lets you use things like precise strike.

Why insist the feat is broken when it can easily be interpreted to, y'know, not be?

It's treated as a one handed weapon. But I am using it two handed. Which is legal to do with a one handed weapon.

Nothing in precise strike (the only deed that actually cares what my off hand is doing by the way) says that the hand has to be empty only that I'm not attack with a weapon in it.

By the rules the only time I have an off hand attack is when I am two weapon fighting. Otherwise there are no penalties or way to state which hand is the off hand.

There is no need therefore for the line I deleted. It literally does nothing OR it does literally everything and adds in all the confusion.

If it clears my off hand then my off hand is clear for all class abilities and feats and I can two weapon fight with another weapon.


Garbage-Tier Waifu wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Next point is the line about treating it as a one handed weapon. What does this mean? Does it mean I can use it in one hand? Because that's how I read that.

You treat it as a one-handed weapon for feats and class features. Not for handedness. So like, you get 1.5x Strength, you can't wield a shield or another weapon in the other hand, but Power Attack is only 1x and you can use Slashing Grace, or utilize swashbuckler features with it.

At least, that's what my opinion is at this point.

I think I wouldn't have power attack affected then. It's not a feat that "requires" one hand.


Abraham spalding wrote:
That would suggest that if you have a non-hand secondary weapon then you could two weapon fight. In addition since it is treated as a one handed weapon for all class abilities it meets the prerequisites for spell combat, especially since it meets the one handed for two weapon fighting too as it meets for all class abilities and feats.

Two-handed fighting, two-weapon fighting and handedness are rules, not feats or class features. Just FYI. Those don't get touched by Bladed Brush.

Cavall wrote:
Garbage-Tier Waifu wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:
Next point is the line about treating it as a one handed weapon. What does this mean? Does it mean I can use it in one hand? Because that's how I read that.

You treat it as a one-handed weapon for feats and class features. Not for handedness. So like, you get 1.5x Strength, you can't wield a shield or another weapon in the other hand, but Power Attack is only 1x and you can use Slashing Grace, or utilize swashbuckler features with it.

At least, that's what my opinion is at this point.

I think I wouldn't have power attack affected then. It's not a feat that "requires" one hand.

Actually, looking at Power Attack again, I think you're right. Power attack doesn't interact with handedness, just damage bonus. Also, it is KINDA wielding a one-handed weapon in two hands if we want to keep with my previous line of thinking. Yeah, Power Attack seems to work as normal.

201 to 212 of 212 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bladed brush really need an errata or a FAQ All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.