Bifurcated Magic and Prestige Classes


Rules Questions


Quote:
You’ve studied the methods of both elven and human spellcasters. Pick two classes when you gain this trait—your caster level in each of those classes is treated as 1 higher as long as this doesn’t raise your caster level above your total Hit Dice. This doesn’t stack with any similar increase from traits such as Magical Knack.

I was wondering how this would work with let's say a wizard > loremaster.

They don't really have a caster level on their own, but since they do take the caster level of an existing caster class, they get one.

So could you have Rogue 2/Wizard 5/Loremaster 1 and have caster level 8?


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Of your three classes, only Wizard has a caster level of its own (as Loremaster simply boosts your Wizard caster level in this case) -- so in this case you would be better off taking the Magical Knack trait.

Now if your class levels were instead Cleric 3/Wizard 3/Mystic Theurge 2, the Bifurcated Magic trait would give you a caster level of 6 in both the Cleric and Wizard classes, with spells per day as a 5th level caster in each of these classes.


Yes, I'm well aware of magical knack I would have preferred taking magical lineage instead.
I sort of figured that would be the case, but I wanted to be sure. Thanks.


is there any other traits like magical knack?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Bifurcated Magic and Prestige Classes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.