Full-Round Attack aborted into Single Attack + Move Action


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Can a character with multiple attacks per round declare a "full round of attacks unless the target dies after the 1st attack and then will use a move action instead"? If this is true, where may I find this rule online or in CRB? Thanks.


ckdragons wrote:

Can a character with multiple attacks per round declare a "full round of attacks unless the target dies after the 1st attack and then will use a move action instead"? If this is true, where may I find this rule online or in CRB? Thanks.

You don't have to decide to do a full attack until after you make the first attack. Core rulebook, Combat chapter, under the description of a Full Attack.

Quote:
Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you've already taken a 5-foot step, you can't use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.

Dark Archive

Jeraa wrote:
ckdragons wrote:

Can a character with multiple attacks per round declare a "full round of attacks unless the target dies after the 1st attack and then will use a move action instead"? If this is true, where may I find this rule online or in CRB? Thanks.

You don't have to decide to do a full attack until after you make the first attack. Core rulebook, Combat chapter, under the description of a Full Attack.

Quote:
Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you've already taken a 5-foot step, you can't use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.

Thank you! I just found that specific text. Spent the last 30 minutes looking for that rule! :(


just know that some full attack actions, like spell combat or flurry of blows can't be converted to a move action.


But some can, like rapid shot and two weapon fighting.


those can't cause they lock you in because you need to take penalties for them


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Chess Pwn wrote:
those can't cause they lock you in because you need to take penalties for them

So what? You take the penalty on your first attack, and you can still abort to a move action. In fact, flurry of blows would allow this as well, as that's a full attack action, which can be aborted to a move action after the first attack, as per the rules.

Spell combat is a full round action, which functions like a full attack action for things like haste. Whether that would let you abort to a move action is unclear.


Can't with Manyshot

Quote:

Manyshot: Can I fire two arrows with my shot, then cancel the full attack and take a move?

No. Though the rules for "Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack (Core Rulebook 187) give you the option to move after your first attack instead of making your remaining attacks, Manyshot locks you into using a full attack action as soon as you use it to shoot two arrows.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

_Ozy_ wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
those can't cause they lock you in because you need to take penalties for them

So what? You take the penalty on your first attack, and you can still abort to a move action.

Spell combat is a full round action, which functions like a full attack action for things like haste. Whether that would let you abort to a move action is unclear.

+1 you can about a Flurry (take the penalty, move instead of the rest after)

+1 Spell Combat can't be aborted because it's not a Full Attack, it's a Full Round action. Probably one of the exact reasons it was deliberately not a Full Attack action.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Flurry actually gives a bonus. It makes you have full Bab (before TWF penalties) and increases power attack damage accordingly. Flurry is also a full attack. Because flurry requires a full attack, I rule that once you have attacked with a flurry attack you are forced to make a full attack or forfit the remaining attacks. You do not get to move. This prevents players from circumventing the requirement of a flurry being a full attack.

Grand Lodge

Mahtobedis wrote:
Flurry actually gives a bonus. It makes you have full Bab (before TWF penalties) and increases power attack damage accordingly. Flurry is also a full attack. Because flurry requires a full attack, I rule that once you have attacked with a flurry attack you are forced to make a full attack or forfit the remaining attacks. You do not get to move. This prevents players from circumventing the requirement of a flurry being a full attack.

So chained monk = no. Unchained = yes. That a good summary?


First, let's look at the net effect Flurry of Blows has on to-hit:
Up to level 4, FoB is a net -1 to hit.
From level 5 to level 8, it's a net 0 to hit.
From level 9 to level 12, it's a net +1 to hit.
From level 13 to level 16, it's a net +2 to hit.
From level 17, it's a net +3 to hit.

Now, let's look at Power Attack:
Up to level 3, it changes nothing.
At level 4 or 5, it's -1 to hit and +2 damage.
At level 6 or 7, it changes nothing.
From level 8 to level 10, it's -1 to hit and +2 damage.
At level 11, it changes nothing.
From level 12 to level 19, it's -1 to hit and +2 damage.
At level 20, it's -2 to hit and +4 damage.

So broken.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
claudekennilol wrote:
Mahtobedis wrote:
Flurry actually gives a bonus. It makes you have full Bab (before TWF penalties) and increases power attack damage accordingly. Flurry is also a full attack. Because flurry requires a full attack, I rule that once you have attacked with a flurry attack you are forced to make a full attack or forfit the remaining attacks. You do not get to move. This prevents players from circumventing the requirement of a flurry being a full attack.
So chained monk = no. Unchained = yes. That a good summary?

It's also a good reason to understand that you should be able to move after the first attack in both cases, as there shouldn't be a difference. But ultimately it's your GM's choice whether to allow it or not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Full-Round Attack aborted into Single Attack + Move Action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.