How to remove a Cursed Earth effect


Rules Questions


In a campaign I'm playing an enemy has casted Cursed Earth, permanently cursing the land.
How can that effect be removed? With such a huge area, it doesn't seem it can be removed by a Remove Curse effect, that only works on objects and creatures.
Will Miracle or Wish work?


Well, Remove Curse from the point touched to create the Cursed Earth effect.

Spell with the curse descriptor can generally be removed by Break Enchantment (only targets creatures) Limited Wish, Miracle, Remove Curse and Wish, prepare your best caster level check in any case


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You must venture out to the Long Walk on the Cursed Earth, and and use your final days to deliver the Law onto the Lawless.


So you think Remove Curse would work?
I thought the land wouldn't count as an object.


Just from a flavor standpoint, I'd say only a wish or miracle could undo a spell that powerful.

Sovereign Court

It doesn't say Dispel Magic doesn't work, so that's an option. There's nothing about [curse] spells that makes them automatically resistant to Dispel Magic.

Of course, any L9 spell is going to be cast at a significant caster level, so your Dispel Magic might not succeed on the first try.


My reason for thinking that it could not work is that I'm not sure that a place would count as an object.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dispel Magic wrote:

Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.

For example, a 7th-level caster casts dispel magic, targeting a creature affected by stoneskin (caster level 12th) and fly (caster level 6th). The caster level check results in a 19. This check is not high enough to end the stoneskin (which would have required a 23 or higher), but it is high enough to end the fly (which only required a 17). Had the dispel check resulted in a 23 or higher, the stoneskin would have been dispelled, leaving the fly intact. Had the dispel check been a 16 or less, no spells would have been affected.

You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.

Looks fine to me. Cursed Earth is a spell affecting an area. That's a valid target for Dispel Magic.


I meant Remove Curse... I hadn't even noticed that you had mentioned Dispel Magic. For some reason I misread that we were still talking about Remove Curse.
Dispel Magic could indeed work.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How to remove a Cursed Earth effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.