Leveling my PFS character


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I am a little confused about leveling my PFS character. I have attended several PFS games at a local convention, and have accumulated the participation sheets and associated boons that come with the whole thing. My question is this: Do I get to apply the experience from each one as I have them, or do I need to wait until my character reaches the appropriate level to gain some of the experience. Several games were played with a pre-gen and out of tier for the character I have created. I understand about the listed benefits being waited for level, but I am rather confused about the whole thing as the only PFS games I have been able to attend are at the Con, and it is difficult to get out to my local Venture Captain or anyone else (about a half hour drive away and well, work.) Thanks.

5/5

If you play a pregen you have three options for the credit:

1. Apply the chronicle to a character who is in level for that game but lower level than the pregen (e.g playing a level 4 pregen in a 1-5 and applying it to a level 2 character). You gain all of the benefits straight away based on the level of the character you are applying it to.

2. Apply the chronicle to a level 1 character. Reduce the gold to 500gp and any boons are only gained when you reach a level you could have played the scenario. You gain access to any equipment to purchase straight away.

2. Assign the chronicle to one of your characters but hold it. You gain all of the benefits of the chronicle when that character reaches the level of the pregen which you played.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Tennessee—Knoxville aka tchrman35

andreww wrote:
1. Apply the chronicle to a character who is in level for that game but lower level than the pregen (e.g playing a level 4 pregen in a 1-5 and applying it to a level 2 character). You gain all of the benefits straight away based on the level of the character you are applying it to.

This is actually only the case in a very limited situation.

If you're playing a scenario which REQUIRES a pregen, then you may apply it immediately to any of your characters that falls within the chronicle range. For example, We Be Goblins 2 has a 2-4 chronicle. You can apply it to a level 2, 3, or 4 PC, even though the goblins are L3 characters. Since you're not ALLOWED to bring in your own character, that module falls under the required pregen rule. I'm not sure where exactly that rule is, but I know it exists. As far as the other rules, they are listed here. Note that the L1 application option has to be a newly created character. I've never seen anyone grouse about it, but the language is there. It sounds as though it as to be a character with 0xp.

RPG Guild Gide, p. 7 wrote:

Applying Credit: You may apply credit for an adventure once your Roleplaying Guild character reaches the level of the pregenerated character used to play through it. For example, if you played a 7th-level pregenerated character, you would apply the credit once your character reaches 7th level. To apply credit, follow the steps below.

• Apply the credit for any eligible adventures in the order in which they were played.
• If you apply credit for multiple adventures at once, your Roleplaying Guild character might advance multiple levels. The character’s level cannot exceed the Tier range of any Chronicle sheets applied to her.
• You can apply credit to a newly created, 1st-level Roleplaying Guild character from a higher-level sanctioned module or Adventure Path. When doing so, reduce the gp reward to 500 gp if the adventure grants 1 XP or 1,398 gp if it grants 3 XP. You do not benefit from any boons until your Roleplaying Guild character reaches the minimum level listed on the Chronicle sheet, unless otherwise noted.

If I can find the language about required pregens, I'll post a reply. Someone else might find it faster :)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So, just to make certain I am understanding this correctly, I can apply the experience gained, but the extra benefits (equipment, boons, ETC>) must wait until the character attains the prescribed level of the pregen that I ran, is that correct?

Dark Archive 5/5

Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Alanya wrote:
Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

That is what was confusing me, thank you for the clarification. Now, I just have to figure out how much XP I can apply now and what level he ends up at.

Many thanks to all for the help :)

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Captain, Netherlands aka Woran

Destrumar wrote:
Alanya wrote:
Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

That is what was confusing me, thank you for the clarification. Now, I just have to figure out how much XP I can apply now and what level he ends up at.

Many thanks to all for the help :)

If you tell us how much XP you currently have and what you want to apply, I'm sure we can figure it out together :)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Tineke Bolleman wrote:
Destrumar wrote:
Alanya wrote:
Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

That is what was confusing me, thank you for the clarification. Now, I just have to figure out how much XP I can apply now and what level he ends up at.

Many thanks to all for the help :)

If you tell us how much XP you currently have and what you want to apply, I'm sure we can figure it out together :)

I have 3 XP from scenarios from 2014/2016

I also have 3 XP from the Masks of the Living God module from 2014
I played in 5-6 scenarios at the Mysticon convention the last weekend in Feb, but I don't have those with me currently. I can't apply the 3 from Masks until my bard hits level 3, from what I have been able to learn today, and I know that I have at least 3 XP that are available for him right now, but I have to get home and look at them.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Tennessee—Knoxville aka tchrman35

Destrumar wrote:
Tineke Bolleman wrote:
Destrumar wrote:
Alanya wrote:
Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

That is what was confusing me, thank you for the clarification. Now, I just have to figure out how much XP I can apply now and what level he ends up at.

Many thanks to all for the help :)

If you tell us how much XP you currently have and what you want to apply, I'm sure we can figure it out together :)

I have 3 XP from scenarios from 2014/2016

I also have 3 XP from the Masks of the Living God module from 2014
I played in 5-6 scenarios at the Mysticon convention the last weekend in Feb, but I don't have those with me currently. I can't apply the 3 from Masks until my bard hits level 3, from what I have been able to learn today, and I know that I have at least 3 XP that are available for him right now, but I have to get home and look at them.

If you played Masks with a level 4 pregen, you can't apply it until your bard hits 4.

Sovereign Court 3/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Stephen Wight wrote:
Destrumar wrote:
Tineke Bolleman wrote:
Destrumar wrote:
Alanya wrote:
Only if you're reducing the gold and applying the chronicle to a level 1. Otherwise everything on the chronicle sheet has to applied at the same time, including XP and PP. If you're holding it until level 4 (for example), then as soon as your character hits level 4 the chronicle sheet is applied in full.

That is what was confusing me, thank you for the clarification. Now, I just have to figure out how much XP I can apply now and what level he ends up at.

Many thanks to all for the help :)

If you tell us how much XP you currently have and what you want to apply, I'm sure we can figure it out together :)

I have 3 XP from scenarios from 2014/2016

I also have 3 XP from the Masks of the Living God module from 2014
I played in 5-6 scenarios at the Mysticon convention the last weekend in Feb, but I don't have those with me currently. I can't apply the 3 from Masks until my bard hits level 3, from what I have been able to learn today, and I know that I have at least 3 XP that are available for him right now, but I have to get home and look at them.
If you played Masks with a level 4 pregen, you can't apply it until your bard hits 4.

Just to note: the rules around pregen credit have changed a bit since 2014. This is likely cause for some of the confusion.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Well, finally went through last night and found out that I have only 3 out of 10 sessions that I can apply to my Bard. I now have a level 2 Bard, with great potential for good things when I hit Level 3 then again at Level 7. Yay me. A grand total of 12 XP and I can only use 3 right now. good stuff though.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

If you have a venture officer close by I suggest you work with them. You may be farther along than you think.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Leveling my PFS character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.