Invoking and character traits


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Does a check invoke a trait if the actual character making the check has that trait? (For instance, someone playing one of the goblins using the Magic Pig).


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
MM rulebook wrote:
A check invokes a trait if it has or is against a card that has that trait. A card invokes a trait if it has that trait. A bane also invokes a trait if it deals only damage of the type that matches that trait.

In other words, no. The traits on the character making the check have no impact as to whether or not the check invokes a trait.


Whenever you make a check, you don't add your character's traits by default. So, for example, when you make combat check with goblin character, you don't add "goblin" trait to a check, so you don't invoke "goblin" trait.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Invoking and character traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion