A Question About GMing Evergreens


GM Discussion

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, Virginia—Portsmouth aka Pogiforce

I have a rules question about GMing evergreens, since I feel the rulebook is a bit vague on the subject. I bring it up because one of my GMs had GMed an evergreen, Emerald Spire Superdungeon Floor 1 over the weekend. This was his third time ever GMing the module. We were under the understanding that just like a player, you can always apply the Evergreen Chronicle Sheet to a first level character for credit even as a GM, but when I reported the event it automatically inserted the following note:

Quote:

Player has already run scenario at session # [number] of event # [number] [location] on October 23, 2015.

GM ranking: +2

Next to his name is marked him as having no Prestige earned for the module.

So I go into the Season 8 Rule book, thinking we may have overlooked something. On Page 18 it reads:

Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide version 8.0 wrote:

Evergreen Adventures

All Tier 1 and Tier 1-2 Adventures can be replayed an unlimited number of times with a 1st-level character for credit. The Tier 1 and 1-2 adventures can also be played with a 2nd-level character once for credit in each campaign mode (Core and Standard Modes). GMs receive another Chronicle sheet each time they run one of the Tier 1 and Tier 1-2 adventures, but can only apply a chronicle sheet to one 2nd-level character per adventure per campaign mode.

While this states explicitly that GMs can only apply credit to a second level character once per campaign mode just like players, based on my understanding, it doesn't directly state whether a GM earns credit each time when applied to a first level character. I also don't know if the omission of a direct statement that GMs can always apply credit to a first level character means that GMs can't apply it to as many first level characters they like, or even if they are allowed to apply them to first level characters at all. Some clarification on this would be appreciated, as based on the note in the system I'm not sure our initial interpretation of the rules was correct. Thanks.

**** Venture-Lieutenant, Tennessee—Memphis aka Mulgar

He gets the chronicle to apply when he runs it. That message is a database snafu. The message is meant for non-evergreens, but allways shows up, even for evergreens.

*** ⦵⦵ Venture-Agent, Virginia—Portsmouth aka Pogiforce

Thank you for the clarification.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / A Question About GMing Evergreens All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion