Reporting with replaying players at the table.


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge 2/5

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I know that if someone replays an adventure in order for it to reach minimum table size they receive a (zeroed) Chronicle, but what do you do with them on the reporting system? Just leave them off?

Also, is there anything stopping them just playing a pre-gen', and not applying the Chronicle to a character number?

Grand Lodge 3/5

They still provide you a number to apply a chronicle to, but they don't get a chronicle. on the session tracker, they'll have a "already played this scenario" message, thus they don't get any credit.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

I believe they get a chronicle but everything is crossed out, 0 exp, 0 prestige, 0 gold.

When reporting you would put 0 prestige earned.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Darrell Impey UK wrote:
Also, is there anything stopping them just playing a pre-gen', and not applying the Chronicle to a character number?

They can play a pre-gen. Technically I believe they still get a chronicle assigned to a character number, which can be an otherwise unused number. This would avoid spending resources or risking conditions/death on a character in play.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

I have never reported characters replaying for no credit. If we are supposed to, it is news to me.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Toz,

See page 15 and page 7 of Guide.

Page 15 of Guide, Reporting Scenario Results wrote:
Once you have completed a scenario and filled out everyone's Chronicle sheet, someone needs to report the results of the scenario.
Page 7 of Guide, Minimum Legal Table Size wrote:
You are permitted to replay an adventure in order to meet the minimum legal table size, with the following stipulations. You don't earn any rewards beyond having a good time. You should (in this instance only) receive a Chronicle sheet for the adventure, though the GM will denote that you earned no gp, Prestige Points, Fame, XP, boon, item access, or any other benefits or disadvantages otherwise normally awarded by a Chronicle Sheet.

These two parts imply to me that players playing an adventure to meet the minimum size should reported as normal.


How is it handled differently for "replaying for no reward to make a legal table" and "replaying for reward using a GM star"?
(spot somebody who's done their GMing at conventions where the organisers do the reporting :) )

Lantern Lodge 5/5

If someone earns a chronicle, I report their position.

0-0-0 chronicle on a "real PC" to make a table fire? Reported with 0 prestige.

Manning a pregen so that the GM doesn't have to? No chronicle, no report.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Andy Brown wrote:

How is it handled differently for "replaying for no reward to make a legal table" and "replaying for reward using a GM star"?

(spot somebody who's done their GMing at conventions where the organisers do the reporting :) )

Reporting for a someone using a GM star is handled as normal.

Dark Archive 5/5

Clarification on this would be good, as over here we also don't report those playing for no credit to make a legal table.

Silver Crusade 5/5

There is no clarification needed, as Gary has cited the relevant section from the Guide. Currently, if somebody is replaying for no credit they get a 0g/0pp/0xp chronicle with no boons or item access. They should get reported along with the other players because any expendables they use or conditions they clear still have to be resolved.


I don't know, it seems a little needless and a waste of paper.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

While I agree with you we still need to follow the guide until it is changed.

Dark Archive 5/5

Mitch Mutrux wrote:
There is no clarification needed, as Gary has cited the relevant section from the Guide. Currently, if somebody is replaying for no credit they get a 0g/0pp/0xp chronicle with no boons or item access. They should get reported along with the other players because any expendables they use or conditions they clear still have to be resolved.

There is clarification needed. Handing out chronicles is not the same as reporting the player in the system. We've always worked under the assumption that if there are less than 3 people reported, it was understood that another player jumped in to make a legal table. If they are supposed to be reported, then the guide should explicitly state that, as obviously not everyone has come to this conclusion.

Silver Crusade 5/5

Alanya wrote:
Mitch Mutrux wrote:
There is no clarification needed, as Gary has cited the relevant section from the Guide. Currently, if somebody is replaying for no credit they get a 0g/0pp/0xp chronicle with no boons or item access. They should get reported along with the other players because any expendables they use or conditions they clear still have to be resolved.
There is clarification needed. Handing out chronicles is not the same as reporting the player in the system. We've always worked under the assumption that if there are less than 3 people reported, it was understood that another player jumped in to make a legal table. If they are supposed to be reported, then the guide should explicitly state that, as obviously not everyone has come to this conclusion.

It is though, or it should be. If a person jumps in to make a legal table with their own character and it dies, the PC would still get reported as dead if it was not raised.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Gary Bush wrote:
These two parts imply to me that players playing an adventure to meet the minimum size should reported as normal.

I don't parse them that way. Reporting the results of the scenario is not the same as reporting the characters.

If the intention is that every player is reported regardless of receiving credit, it is not being communicated to everyone.

Dark Archive 5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

^ This ^

TOZ and I are in two very different areas of the country, so it's not just one lodge's interpretation. Since the boards only represent a small fraction of players, I can only imagine there are others out there who also operate this way.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Previous discussion with similar results.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

By similar results I assume you mean that no concensus was reached then either?

Would hitting the FAQ button help do you think, or would that just flag it to the wrong department?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

Darrell Impey UK wrote:
By similar results I assume you mean that no concensus was reached then either?

Yes, that multiple people had different ideas, and that a VO made a definitive statement. (Which was different that time than this.)

Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

I also don't report players replaying for no credit (I don't see a need to clog the system or peoples' records), with the exception (which has never happened in my presence) that if the associated character dies and is not revived it should be marked as dead in the system.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Maybe this will be something that will be clarified with season 9.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Reporting with replaying players at the table. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.