Cycling cards out of the box?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Forgive me if this has been asked before, my search was weak and I didn't find anything.

My main experience has been with the Adventure Card Guild play, and I recently picked up the Mummy's Mask base set to try playing with my wife at home. We're playing the AP and I was wondering if we were supposed to cycle cards out of the box like we do in the ACG. For example, if we were playing book 3, should we still be using B Basic cards? Should deck 1 still be mixed in? Should all the cards be mixed in together? I'm a little confused and I didn't see anything about this in the instruction manual.

Thanks in advance for any help!


It's very cool that you have moved from OP to home play.

Buried in the rulebook is:

MM rulebook p.19 wrote:
When you successfully complete all of the scenarios on the adventure card, you complete the adventure, and earn the reward on the adventure card. To move on to the next adventure, add all of the cards from the next Adventure Deck to the box, sorting the cards by type and combining them with the cards you already have.

You do not remove any cards simply because you are beginning an adventure.

The Adventure Path card has the rules for removing cards (I don't have it handy to quote it). It's the same rules you are familiar with from OP -- after you begin adventure 3, remove any Basic bane you banish, and you may remove any Basic boon you banish; after beginning adventure 5, do the same with Elites.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yes, all the cards from the game up to the Adventure you're playing should be in the game. As it says on the Adventure Path card, you only remove cards with the Basic trait according to the rules when you reach Adv3, Shifting Sands, and those cards get banished, and similarly cards with the Elite trait when you reach Adv5.


All basic banes are removed from play when banished when you start Adventure 3, but you can choose when you banish boons if you want to put to the box or remove from play. See Adventure Path card (the brown one).


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
elcoderdude wrote:

It's very cool that you have moved from OP to home play.

Buried in the rulebook is:

MM rulebook p.19 wrote:
When you successfully complete all of the scenarios on the adventure card, you complete the adventure, and earn the reward on the adventure card. To move on to the next adventure, add all of the cards from the next Adventure Deck to the box, sorting the cards by type and combining them with the cards you already have.

You do not remove any cards simply because you are beginning an adventure.

The Adventure Path card has the rules for removing cards (I don't have it handy to quote it). It's the same rules you are familiar with from OP -- after you begin adventure 3, remove any Basic bane you banish, and you may remove any Basic boon you banish; after beginning adventure 5, do the same with Elites.

This is correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Cycling cards out of the box? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion