Slashing Grace(Battleaxe) and the Axe Musket


Rules Questions


This is a simple question. If you use a Axe Musket like a battleaxe, does Slashing Grace work with it, or would you need to take Slashing Grace(Axe Musket) instead?

Slashing Grace

Axe Musket


Man the way thats written it seems like slashing grace battleaxe would work.

Dark Archive

Azten wrote:

This is a simple question. If you use a Axe Musket like a battleaxe, does Slashing Grace work with it, or would you need to take Slashing Grace(Axe Musket) instead?

Slashing Grace

Axe Musket

The fun answer is yes. The image is hilarious. Some hulking urban barbarian gracefully twirling a battleaxe sized gun.

The serious answer is it depends. You can wield an axe musket as a battleaxe just fine. Does it qaulify for feats exclusive to battleaxes?

Would weapon Focus battleaxe work for this weapon? I would say no.

The weapon can be wielded as a battleaxe but it is not treated as one. So no. You would have to get slashing grace (axe musket) to have it work.


The problem with that is that an Axe Musket is not a one-handed slashing weapon unless using it like a battleaxe.


FAQ wrote:

Scorpion Whips: How do scorpion whips work? There are several published sources of scorpion whips, and they seem inconsistent.

[...] someone with both proficiencies can also use it as a whip, in which case it acts precisely like a whip in all ways (one-handed weapon, attack out to 15 feet, provoke an attack of opportunity, can use the Whip Mastery feats, etc) except that it deals lethal damage and can harm creatures regardless of their armor bonus.

Notice the same "used as" language is used here. This clarifies that if you use something as a specific weapon it is actually considered to be that weapon. Slashing Grace should work just fine.


Is the axe muscket properly balanced for one handed use? I have a feeling that it does not fit the prereqs for slashing grace.


A battle axe is a one handed weapon.


yep, a normal/standard battle axe... a musket axe is primarily built as a musket, and I doubt it can actually be wielded one handed.


Then again it doesn't say "it can be used as a two-handed martial weapon dealing damage as a battleaxe", it says it can be used as a battle axe. So it can.
Everything else would be a houserule and I don't think one is needed there. Keep in mind a axe musket does only weight 6 lb. There are one handed weapons weighting twice as much.


Using the gladius as an example it does not quailify for slashing grace. The description of the gladius specifically states that feats and abilities that affect shortswords apply to the gladius. Since the battle musket does not mention feats or abilities that affect battle axes then it does not.

The FAQ about the Scorpion Whip does not apply to everything. It is dealing with a specific weapon not a general rule.


It's alway hilarious seeing people argue that "it's used as X" doesn't really mean that it's used as X


@Mysterious Stranger :
I don't think I can follow your logic. The gladius never mentioned it is used as anything else than a gladius. It simply benefits from feats that normally affect another weapon.

The axe musket can be used as a battle axe, so of course it benefits from anything that benefits a battle axe. Otherwise it would be unlike a battle axe in that regard. And of course we have to assume the same wording (from the scorpion whip) transports the same meaning unless there are strong hints indicating the opposite - otherwise communication would be all but impossible.

Dark Archive

Lintecarka wrote:
FAQ wrote:

Scorpion Whips: How do scorpion whips work? There are several published sources of scorpion whips, and they seem inconsistent.

[...] someone with both proficiencies can also use it as a whip, in which case it acts precisely like a whip in all ways (one-handed weapon, attack out to 15 feet, provoke an attack of opportunity, can use the Whip Mastery feats, etc) except that it deals lethal damage and can harm creatures regardless of their armor bonus.

Notice the same "used as" language is used here. This clarifies that if you use something as a specific weapon it is actually considered to be that weapon. Slashing Grace should work just fine.

Fair enough. It seems to be RAW. Assuming used as means treat it as. What is the worst that could happen?


Lintecarka wrote:

@Mysterious Stranger :

I don't think I can follow your logic. The gladius never mentioned it is used as anything else than a gladius. It simply benefits from feats that normally affect another weapon.

The axe musket can be used as a battle axe, so of course it benefits from anything that benefits a battle axe. Otherwise it would be unlike a battle axe in that regard. And of course we have to assume the same wording (from the scorpion whip) transports the same meaning unless there are strong hints indicating the opposite - otherwise communication would be all but impossible.

Right the two are subtly different

Short sword is P
Gladius is P/S

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I love this question. Of course, my favorite swashbuckler is a waraxe wielding dwarf, so I could be a little biased).

Every 'treat as' type clarification that I've ever seen paizo make has all consistently ruled in this direction. Whether its handedness with the bastard or the stuff posted above about the scorpion whip, it's always that 'treat as X' means use it just like its X. So, yes- slashing grace [battle axe] should work for the axe musket.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Slashing Grace(Battleaxe) and the Axe Musket All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.