Can a character block an enemy from moving past them if they did an aoo?


Rules Questions


So here's a thing that happened in my previous session. Our android ninja snuck up behind a necromancer and missed him with a nat 1. The necromancer's turn comes up, he casts invisibility and the ninja takes an aoo to hit him and misses. I then rule at that point that the necromancer could then move past the ninja because the ninja used his aoo to attack the necromancer instead of keeping him in the same square. My players disagreed, so at the time I compromised by having the wizard go around him through difficult terrain. Keep in mind on the other side of the necromancer was a wall of fire and the other pcs, so he wouldn't want to go backwards, but instead past the ninja.

So for future reference, if a character does an aoo on someone can they still prevent enemies from moving directly through their square in the same round?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Normally, you need an Acrobatics check to move through the square of an unfriendly creature. Otherwise, the only time you can move through an unfriendly creature's square is if they are Helpless or if the creature is 3+ sizes larger.


Sure. Trip them with your AoO. Or grapple them. Or otherwise impose some status effect on them that keeps them from moving.

Or, if you have Combat Reflexes or a similar ability, you can make multiple AoO in response to multiple triggers -- attack once when they cast a spell, attack a second time when they stand up, attack a third time when they move, until they run out of triggers or you run out of Dexterity.

What you can't typically do is attack for damage at the same time you attack for a status effect.

Sovereign Court

casting a spell triggers an AoO, as long as the ninja has combat reflexes, the wizard moving out of a threatened square would also trigger an additional AoO. if the ninja does not have combat reflexes, then all he can do is stand by and watch the wizard walk on by.

EDIT: or what orfamay said ... that's what I get for trying to post at work


did the necromancer make a concentration check cause casting in melee?


Domestichauscat wrote:

So here's a thing that happened in my previous session. Our android ninja snuck up behind a necromancer and missed him with a nat 1. The necromancer's turn comes up, he casts invisibility and the ninja takes an aoo to hit him and misses. I then rule at that point that the necromancer could then move past the ninja because the ninja used his aoo to attack the necromancer instead of keeping him in the same square. My players disagreed, so at the time I compromised by having the wizard go around him through difficult terrain. Keep in mind on the other side of the necromancer was a wall of fire and the other pcs, so he wouldn't want to go backwards, but instead past the ninja.

So for future reference, if a character does an aoo on someone can they still prevent enemies from moving directly through their square in the same round?

He would still need an Acrobatics test to pass through the ninja, I think. I good quick house-ruling could be to let the necromancer make an Acrobatics check against the Ninjas CMD without his dex (because the Ninja is flatflooted against him).

In my way of thinking, there are difficulties of passing by a character without being blocked even if that character is not aware of where exaclty you are. Picture yourself passing invisible through a huge bloke, your opponent size (str and size modifier) and, in this situation, his experience with battles (representing his bab), still makes it harder for you.


Thanks guys, should it ever come up again I'll know what to do.


AoO and anything don't mix.
Threatening isn't dependent on being able to take AoO still.
Move through a enemy square doesn't care if the enemy can take an AoO or not.
The only thing being out of AoOs does is stops you from making more AoOs.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Orfamay Quest wrote:
Sure. Trip them with your AoO. Or grapple them.

Trip works.

Can't grapple on AoO unless you have Grab.

Grand Lodge

Orfamay Quest wrote:
Sure. Trip them with your AoO. Or grapple them. Or otherwise impose some status effect on them that keeps them from moving.

Trip is your best bet most of the time, however I don't think you can grapple on an AoO without some feats.

If trip doesn't work, disarm can also be handy as they charge in with their... bare hands? And they provoke when they try to attack now! Dandy.

Sovereign Court

To pass through, yes, that would still be an acrobatics check required, regardless if the PC has AoOs remaining or not. I was under the impression it was just moving around. bad readinG on my part.


Domestichauscat wrote:

So here's a thing that happened in my previous session. Our android ninja snuck up behind a necromancer and missed him with a nat 1. The necromancer's turn comes up, he casts invisibility and the ninja takes an aoo to hit him and misses. I then rule at that point that the necromancer could then move past the ninja because the ninja used his aoo to attack the necromancer instead of keeping him in the same square. My players disagreed, so at the time I compromised by having the wizard go around him through difficult terrain. Keep in mind on the other side of the necromancer was a wall of fire and the other pcs, so he wouldn't want to go backwards, but instead past the ninja.

So for future reference, if a character does an aoo on someone can they still prevent enemies from moving directly through their square in the same round?

So just to clarify what should have happened...

0) Ninja attacks and misses
1) Necromancer prepares to cast invisibility and must either make a concentration check or provoke
2a) If successfully make the concentration the spell occurs no problem
2b) Fail the concentration check, lose the spell.
2c) Take the damage from the AoO and cast the spell.

It sounds like option 2c was taken.

If the necromancer is already invisible, he does not provoke more AoOs. However, if the he wants to move through the ninjas square, he still needs to make an acrobatics check to do so (or a combat maneuver to overrun).

Grand Lodge

James Risner wrote:
Orfamay Quest wrote:
Sure. Trip them with your AoO. Or grapple them.

Trip works.

Can't grapple on AoO unless you have Grab.

If I recall correctly, you can only grapple with Grab on your turn- this is because Grab allows a grapple attempt as a free action which you can't take along with an AoO.

However, the ability Snatch will let you do so... and you'll be stuck in a horrible chain of nonstop grappling. :(

EDIT: More discussion on this here
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2nrq1?Can-you-use-Improved-Grab-or-Snatch-on-an


FAQ, grab, trip, and other free action riders on attacks work for AoOs.

Grand Lodge

Chess Pwn wrote:
FAQ, grab, trip, and other free action riders on attacks work for AoOs.

Interesting. Faceless Stalkers just got a whole lot more deadly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a character block an enemy from moving past them if they did an aoo? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.