Skald Renewed Vigor controversy


Rules Questions


Hello! So building a skald I ran into some controversy that I am surprised I could not find an official answer for.

skald clearly says two statements that contradict each other.
1. a skald learns a rage power that affects the skald and any allies under the influence of his inspired rage. This cannot be a rage power that requires the creature to spend a standard action or rounds of rage to activate it.
2. If a rage power can only be used a certain number of times per day or per rage (such as renewed vigor), each ally affected by the inspired rage song is subject to that limit (with once per rage abilities limited to once per inspired rage).

so it clearly suggests that you can have renewed vigor and describes how to use it in 2, but in 1 says you cannot take it because it's a standard action.

Anyone have better search-fu than me on this or am I just missing something? :) I found one reddit post that someone says no you can't have it, but literally almost every other skald built I see uses renewed vigor for allies.

Silver Crusade

Huh, I never noticed that before.

Well one of those is an error, but just because Renewed Vigor is called out doesn't necessarily mean it is correct. Hmm, will do some digging.


That's hilarious. I'm pretty sure it's just an "error" and you can't use Renewed Vigor anyway, because of the first limitation.

Silver Crusade

*nods*

I'm starting to lean that way too.

Since it says "such as" the writer may not have meant that Skalds' can take it but merely to use it as an example to point out the per day clause... but they probably should have picked a per day Rage Power that the Skald can legally take, if such was the case...


Melkiador wrote:
That's hilarious. I'm pretty sure it's just an "error" and you can't use Renewed Vigor anyway, because of the first limitation.

Well, the limitation specifies powers that require an action, and using renewed vigor takes a standard action... ergo unless that bit has been errata'ed away, no, that power can't be selected by a skald.


It's too bad, renewed vigor and it's chain would be pretty awesome as a skald :)


I actually find the standard action limitation to be strange to begin with. Because you can still use rage powers that require a move or swift action.


When I see that the bloodrager has spells AND a full bab progression, I suspend discussion of what the game designers do and just assume they know what it is.

Silver Crusade

Klorox wrote:
When I see that the bloodrager has spells AND a full bab progression,

?

So does Paladins and Rangers.


Duh... I'm sleep deprived, I'll go have a nap and refresh that silly head of mine...
so yeah, apparently I'd forgotten that a 4 lvl spell progression is compatible with a full bab, send for the dunce cap.

Silver Crusade

Ish okay.

*fluffs pillow for the sleepy orc*


I noticed that when the class first came out. I chalked it up to a change in plans between the writing process.

Which really is a shame that's a decent rage power for sure.


Rysky wrote:
Klorox wrote:
When I see that the bloodrager has spells AND a full bab progression,

?

So does Paladins and Rangers.

And all three of them are 4 level spellcasters, skald is 6


Skald is 3/4 bab, though... like the bard, hunter, investigator, warpriest...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Skald Renewed Vigor controversy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.