FAQ Conflict?

Rules Questions

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?


Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.


Also how does this interact with a medium creature using a two-handed reach weapon sized for a small creature in one hand?

Sovereign Court

4 people marked this as a favorite.

The lance is never treated as a one-handed weapon, despite being used in one hand. Thus, it continues to do damage as a two-handed weapon.

Just about every other way to wield a two-handed weapon in one hand also causes it to be treated as a one-handed weapon, and then the second FAQ applies.

They're not in conflict, but the difference is obscure :)

As for your other question:

Core Rulebook > Equipment > Weapons wrote:
The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.

So a medium creature using a small-intended 2H weapon uses it as a 1H weapon and the second FAQ applies.

Ascalaphus is correct, though they seem to conflict they actually are not. It's just that the difference is nuanced.

The important bit is that the lance entry never says "as a one-handed weapon".

Lance: A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand.

Compare to:

Jotungrip (Ex): At 2nd level, a titan mauler may choose to wield a two-handed weapon in one hand with a –2 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. The weapon must be appropriately sized for her, and it is treated as one-handed when determining the effect of Power Attack, Strength bonus to damage, and the like. This ability replaces uncanny dodge.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Devs themselves have stated that these two appear to be in conflict and that it should be looked at. To date, nothing has been done.

This is an issue that keeps coming up over and over because a 'common sense reading' of the two FAQs and the rules make them appear to be in conflict.

You have to split hairs in order to come to the conclusion that they are not in conflict.

Heck, back in 3.5 there was a FAQ on this that stated the Lance was a 1 handed weapon when used while mounted and in one hand. (Ie, the same as the second, later FAQ.) That made sense, while PF's apparent FAQ contradiction does not make sense.

Frankly, the 'Lance' FAQ is earlier than the other FAQ and, in a common sense reading, appears to be superseded by the more recent FAQ.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think they haven't gone back to it because it's a one weapon corner case, meaning it's likely not high on the priority list.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / FAQ Conflict? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.